Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2016, 07:52 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
questions about adding 2nd ac unit

I am wanting to add a 2nd ac unit to my 32dbks. It is prewired and I presume ducted for a second ac unit. I'm not sure if the prewiring includes the thermostat wires. If so, where is the other end of those wires for the thermostat or does it go to the main thermostat for a dual zone unit. I thinking about going with a non-ducted unit and being done with it. Any thoughts or information?
wjessup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 02:57 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Splendora, Texas
Posts: 1,314
I don't know what a 32dbks is but when I had a
V-Cross fiver the bedroom AC was a stand alone unit
and it didn't have a thermostat. It was very noisy.
My current fiver 2015 Wildcat 327ck has two ducked ACs
with two thermostats.
whj77372 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 08:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Keisling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North Florida
Posts: 98
I added a second A/C in my Wildcat last spring. It was pre-wired at the factory and had all the wires (including thermostat) taped up and tucked behind a plate that was hidden by the vent cover trim. The ducts were just sealed with foil tape and easily cut to link the 2nd A/C to the duct work.
The install was a piece of cake. Aside from lifting the 2nd unit onto the roof, the hardest part is removing the caulk they put around the old vent that got removed and replaced by the 2nd A/C.
__________________
-Dave


2014 Wildcat 312BHX
2015 RAM 2500 Mega Cab 6.7 Cummins Turbo Diesel
Keisling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 08:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,467
I had 2nd ac added in the bedroom.
Non ducted, which is great for me.
No need to freeze the kid, just so I'm cool.
I like the noise as well. Drowns out the noisy campers.
Some may not like the noise.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 09:59 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
Leaning this way

Thanks Kenny Kustom
I also am leaning towards this kind of installation. It should be simple and better for our particular needs. Now I'm in the process of finding someone to install for me.
wjessup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:05 AM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
questions about adding 2nd ac unit

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjessup View Post
Thanks Kenny Kustom
I also am leaning towards this kind of installation. It should be simple and better for our particular needs. Now I'm in the process of finding someone to install for me.


Do it yourself!
I've now installed two units on two campers.
Very easy.
$700.00 should do it.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:11 AM   #7
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 124
If your health allows you to install yourself, do a search on YouTube on how to do it. Getting it on the roof is usually the biggest challenge and takes 2 people - 3 might be better. There were 2 of us when I did mine and getting it on the roof was the challenge.


2012 F350 CC SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS
__________________
2012 F-350 SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS
jsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:17 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3
I'm big

Thanks Turbs
Unfortunately I'm a 300lb Jethro. I'm wondering if I wouldn't be to big for the roof. I did watch a video on installing the ac and it doesn't look hard at all. I am pretty handy with these kind of things, just not very handy with carpentry Glad I'm not going to have to do that. Also how did you get the unit on the roof? I don't have a fixed ladder on my camper I'll have to take a extension ladder with me but that's not problem. Open for any and all suggestions
wjessup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 10:23 AM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
questions about adding 2nd ac unit

I slid the unit, box and all right up the ladder.

Personally after doing the first non ducted and the second ducted is never do it non ducted again.
I'd go with ducted!


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 12:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjessup View Post
Thanks Kenny Kustom
I also am leaning towards this kind of installation. It should be simple and better for our particular needs. Now I'm in the process of finding someone to install for me.

I would like to revise my opinion.

Last night was the first night where it was warm enough to run it all night.


There's two settings. Regardless of the dial.
Off or full blast.. That's it.
Full blast would have froze me out.
Going to need to figure out a solution.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 12:18 PM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Kenny, you can turn it into ducted for about $150.00 plus the thermostat.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
2016 nights camped "10"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 04:21 PM   #12
jsk
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 124
I agree with Turbs - I would never go non-ducted again. My helper and I each got on a ladder and walked up the ladder together and slid it on the roof. The roof and side of camper were layered with cardboard. After removing skylight and cleaning we set in to place and tightened per manu. specs.. My thermostat wires were not pre-run so that was my challenge.


2012 F350 CC SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS-6
__________________
2012 F-350 SRW 6.7
2012 Sabre 34-REQS
jsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 04:48 PM   #13
Member
 
Keisling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: North Florida
Posts: 98
Another +1 to going ducted. I like having the flexibility it offers:
-Both units running when it's very hot
-Just the bedroom unit when I want it quiet in the main living area
-Just the main area unit when I want it quiet in the bedroom
-Having redundancy in case one unit fails on a summer trip
__________________
-Dave


2014 Wildcat 312BHX
2015 RAM 2500 Mega Cab 6.7 Cummins Turbo Diesel
Keisling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 05:29 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,467
That's also an issue I have.

I cannot run both, on 30a.

The magnum inverter has risen back to the top of the list...

Wire the front ac to the inverter.
Set it for 15A input.
The batteries will help handle the starting.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.