Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-24-2019, 07:05 PM   #1

WiFi antenna / USB cable

I was looking st getting the Alfa camp pro 2 kit to help with WiFi signal. One of the videos I was watching suggested possibly just running the cable through one of the seals in the slide out. I’m not experienced enough to say if this is a good idea or bad. We would only be doing it while we are camping the few days each time. So it wouldn’t be an extended amount of time. But my first thought was this would be bad due to the seal, or are the seals good enough to accommodate a small single USB cord

Thanks
afmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 07:16 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by afmiller View Post
I was looking st getting the Alfa camp pro 2 kit to help with WiFi signal. One of the videos I was watching suggested possibly just running the cable through one of the seals in the slide out. I’m not experienced enough to say if this is a good idea or bad. We would only be doing it while we are camping the few days each time. So it wouldn’t be an extended amount of time. But my first thought was this would be bad due to the seal, or are the seals good enough to accommodate a small single USB cord

Thanks

That might work, give it a try.
We fished the cable up the frig vent to the roof , then mounted the antenna on the crank up tv antenna.
Old 09-24-2019, 07:35 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homebrew View Post
That might work, give it a try.
We fished the cable up the frig vent to the roof , then mounted the antenna on the crank up tv antenna.
How long did that take? Granted time can vary. But on average. Pretty easy to do too? That would be a more permanent and I like that idea
afmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 08:07 PM   #4