RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2014, 09:13 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Not in mine. 2011.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 09:31 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Not mine either, when I turn my headlights on it goes into night mode. When the lights are turned off, goes back into day mode.

Jason
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 10:43 PM   #23
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
Same here, lights on, night mode, lights off, day mode
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 06:46 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Rowlett, Texas
Posts: 49
Jake
Congrats and welcome. Yep, lots to study and figure out but its real fun. Your going to have items you think are a problem but end up not so much. Just keep your eyes and ears open and share your findings with rest of the family so you all can have each others back. Enjoy your new coach and hope you make lots of great memories.
RodneyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:22 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Jake,
check to make sure that the adjustment for the dash illumination is set to the brightest. Should have an adjustment where you turn the headlights on. May be set to a point where the it is just on the edge and needs to be adjusted slightly.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:13 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by NO3putt View Post
Jake, what brand fridge? Sounds like it is a dominic fridge since there is an LP light on it. If so it will not run on the inverter, you will need shore power or generator running for it to be on electric. There should be a button that says AUTO, with that button pushed, it will default to LP.
Your lights, and all the other 12 volt items run off you house batteries. (roof fans as an example)

The following need generator or shore power to run
Air conditioners
Micro wave
Furance
Hot water when on electric (will work on LP without shore power/generator)
Is this a clarification? Doesn't the main furnaces function without shore power? Maybe there is a fireplace furnace and it would require shore power but all others are 12V and propane, are they not? Not to confuse the OP.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 09:37 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Is this a clarification? Doesn't the main furnaces function without shore power? Maybe there is a fireplace furnace and it would require shore power but all others are 12V and propane, are they not? Not to confuse the OP.
My furnace fan runs on 12V; no inverter or genset needed.

The way to test things is disconnect from shore power and then inverter off. Try everything. The inverter on and try everything. This will show what runs on 12V what runs on inverter. Finally with full shore power (or genset running) everything should work).

The genset will run EVERYTHING with out needing to have the inverter on.

HTH.

Boowho??
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 11:20 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Like Boo says.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:01 PM   #29
Junior Member
 
okiedragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: wynnewood oklahoma
Posts: 19
2011 390BH (Just Bought) need some help!

Ive ordered these on ebay and so far all have worked( knock on wood) i only got 1 key for my camper shell when i bought it and ordered a pair using the # off the lock cylinder and they worked also.. Most time these are cheaper than having keys made somewhere that is if you got time to wait for them to come in...just a suggestion


http://www.ebay.com/itm/TRIMARK-KEY-...918faa&vxp=mtr
__________________
https://www.forestriverforums.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic51597_1.gif.pagespeed.ce.qvvx73TjQp.gif
okiedragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:20 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by okiedragster View Post
Ive ordered these on ebay and so far all have worked( knock on wood) i only got 1 key for my camper shell when i bought it and ordered a pair using the # off the lock cylinder and they worked also.. Most time these are cheaper than having keys made somewhere that is if you got time to wait for them to come in...just a suggestion


http://www.ebay.com/itm/TRIMARK-KEY-...918faa&vxp=mtr

All the keys are Trimark except the gas door key as far as I know.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:29 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Looks like the key to my fuel door are by southco.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:52 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 37
Now an AC question.. If we set the thermostat to say 72 degrees the back AC in the bedroom will run us out it gets so cold. The front AC is blowing cold air but the front is noticeably warmer.. alot warmer.

We had all the shades down and sun shades down as well and the rear room is MUCH colder than the front room.

Is that normal? Right now we have the rear room Zone 2 set to 74 degrees and front to 72 and the rear room is STILL colder. What gives?
jakedempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:53 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I posted a web site for them. I would think you could get a key or just order a couple of new locks and replace them. Odd that the fuel keys would go missing



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:07 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Jake,
Sounds pretty normal to me. Since the front AC has to cool a much larger area, it will not do as good a job as the rear AC. Make sure that the doors between the 2 areas are open and that the AC's are set to high until the desired temp is reached. Do you know the size of your AC's? My front AC is 15k btu and the rear is 13.5k btu. Not sure if yours is the same. FR put 13.5k btu units in the front and rear as part of the normal setup. Needed to ask for an upgrade to the front AC if you wanted 15k btu in the front.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:12 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home is where I park it
Posts: 1,503
So Jake....... Are you related to the Manassa Mauler?

Jack Dempsey was a native of Mannasa, Colorado, hence that moniker.

Boowho??
boowho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:17 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
Like Tom said, that is normal for your ACs, the front AC will continue blowing air into the bedroom which also makes it colder back there. I have a snoring problem, so the DW says, we keep the back AC fan set to low during the night so the noise drowns out my supposed snoring. I think she's crazy, I never heard myself snore....
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:47 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
One of the best investments you can make is a windshield and drivers window cover. They will make a huge difference in keeping the front cooler. Also awnings on the side windows help a bunch.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 10:22 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 37
Earlier in this thread I mentioned how my digital display will flicker between night and day mode. It just got worse..

When I turn my headlights on not only will the digital display flicker but ALL the lights on the dash will also go out, then come back on. Also, If I have my brights on when it flickers it will make the brights go back to normal then back to brights.

With so many lights failing do you think the headlight switch itself is just bad? I am assuming a short in a wire is not likely the culprit seeing how every light in the dash is affected and the headlights are affected too.
jakedempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:17 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 102
Mess around with the dimmer roller wheel that is next to the headlight switch mine sometimes has some strange behavior, and it sounds like it might be related.
chesterhull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
390bh

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.