RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2014, 11:39 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
A/C Outlets in Dinette Slide Quit Working

Hello guys.
2014 Berk 390RB, with Residential Fridge

At a campsite and noticed my Fridge was not working a little while ago.
It was working earlier today and yesterday.

Here is what I have checked/done so far:
No A/C power to outlet behind fridge.
Reset A/C breakers,
Tried on inverter,
Hooked up to 30 amp with adapter,
Reset GFI in back bath (only one I could find).
Tested other outlets with meter and all others outlets seem OK.
Ran extension cord to outlet right behind drivers seat to get the fridge back on temporarily

Seems it is only affecting the 2 outlets in the dinette slide.
One outlet behind fridge and one outlet under dinette.


Has anyone ran into this issue already that can point me in the right direction from here?

Thanks, Dan

EDIT: While travelling yesterday, we did smell something that we could not identify which may or may not be related. Was kind of a burning smell, kind of like a fan belt but not really. And was just faint. We had stopped to check it out, but could never identify anything.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 12:26 PM   #2
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
something to check

Have you checked the wire on the bus bar inside the breaker box? We had some come lose and melted the box, almost a fire. To check disconnect from shore power, there are two screws that hold the breaker frame in place and you will see two bus bars below the breakers. Check wires for discolor and that they are secure.
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120702_125142-1.jpg
Views:	159
Size:	50.6 KB
ID:	51355
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 12:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
I would look for another GFI outlet. Should be one in the kitchen area on the corner of the counter next to the fridge.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 12:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
no3putt, thanks. I'll get into there in a while when I can get an opportunity to get the others off the TV and Air Conditioner

tmmar, thanks but I think my RB is quite different layout than your BH.
The kitchen counters are on the other side of the coach and all work fine.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 01:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
no3putt, got into the breaker box.
Found one wire loose that was not on the fridge circuit.
No burnt or discolored wires

Maybe I should check for power at the bus bar while I have it open?
I'd have to plug it back to in to the pedestal for that though.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 01:36 PM   #6
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
We have two GFI outlets. One in bath, one in kitchen area.
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 01:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
I did find the other GFI in the kitchen, opposite side of coach.
No love
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 01:49 PM   #8
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
But did it fix your problem?
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 01:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by NO3putt View Post
But did it fix your problem?
I'm afraid not.
I'm out of ideas.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 02:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I would also think it's a GFI. Might be outside and not close to the outlet. There are a couple in the back compartments that could be the issue. If all the beakers are on its a plug issue our a GFI as far as I can guess.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 02:27 PM   #11
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-nickie View Post
I'm afraid not.
I'm out of ideas.
Looks like a trip under the slide is due to investigate pinched wires or start pull ing the outlets and check for loose or disconnected wires. MAKE sure you're unplugged from shore power.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 02:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I think the plug in the back left compartment is a GFI. Check it.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
I checked the plugs in the compartments. none with a reset button on it.

Ah, might be daisy-chained through the outlets. Thanks for the tip on that one.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 05:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
I also have been looking around underneath. Doesn't have a bundle of cables hanging out underneath the slide like many I have seen. The cables are run along the frame rails and are pretty much hidden from view.
They seem to enter the coach up through the basement. I'm wondering where the slack is that they would need when the slide moves? On top of the floor, but under the slide?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 06:33 PM   #15
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
Would start pulling the receptacles themselves and check the wires. They are notorious for falling out of the push in clips.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 07:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoot View Post
Would start pulling the receptacles themselves and check the wires. They are notorious for falling out of the push in clips.
Yep, I figured that was pretty much my next option. Thanks for all the pointers.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:17 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Dan do you have a volt tester that sound an alarm when current is present I don't know what they are called but that would tell you if you have elec in the line. I know this isn't very clear sorry. I was thinking of other possible things to check and wondered if you checked the reset on the inverter?



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:42 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
I am using a simple volt meter. Doesn't have sound.

I think the converter and inverter are combined. I looked at it but didn't see any breakers or buttons to reset.
It does have 120 volts at the breaker in the breaker box.
And the inverter powers the televisions okay.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:46 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
On mine it's a rocker looking switch. I had it trip several times awhile back and it would take our a couple if outlets. I don't have the same inverter as you but mine is in top and like I said it looks like a small rocker. My issue was most likely overloading outlets.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 08:48 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
It has to be something simple that tripped. If it was working one min and not the next. I always look for the worst thing and forget or overlook the obvious. Hopefully you will find it soon.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.