Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2015, 04:50 PM   #1

air chuck in generator compartment

Howdy folks
Total newbie just completed our maiden voyage in our 2014 Berkshire 36QL. My question is this....in the generator compartment I see what looks like an air chuck, I was wondering if that could be used to air up the tires, if I got an air hose?
Thanks in advance
Jeff
deppitydawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 05:06 PM   #2

You could but you're better off buying a compressor that goes up to 125psi. You need a gauge on the line and you will see it cycling to below what you want for your tire pressures(pain in the butt).
accumack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 05:28 PM   #3

I just used mine to top off a couple tires today. It takes a while.
You need to let the compressor run till it turns off to have the highest pressure.
When the pressure gets too low, it may let air out of the tire.
Pump the brakes a few times to start the compressor again, then put some more air in.
Fortunately I don't have to add air too often.

Welcome to the forum.
Old 07-23-2015, 06:32 PM   #4

I use mine all the time to air up my tires. I should say I use it everything I need to air them up bloke Dan said its not often.

Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:35 PM   #5

I found that air chuck useless for under inflated tires. I watched a YouTube video from RVGeeks on the VIAIR 12 volt compressor. I was so impressed I bought one, the total kit. Not cheap by any means but works like a champ. JMO
Paulie Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:14 PM   #6

Paulie did you have the MH running? I find as long as I keep the compressor running I can pump easily to 120 lbs. I wonder why they don't work the same. Several people on IRV2 said theirs was not able to air up a low tire also.

Old 07-23-2015, 08:49 PM   #7