RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2015, 11:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
Electric problems and a/c problems

Had a small heater plugged in and lost power to the outlet, bunk house outlets, and main TV. Not sure if this is related but the A/C runs when it is set to furnace. Help
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Sounds like you just tripped a breaker or your GFCI. Turn off all the electrical devices and reset your GFCI outlets. Switch your 120v outlet breakers off, and then back on again. Once remedied, plug your heater into a different outlet.

As for the A/C running when set to furnace.. the A/C is actually not running.. it's just the fans. Check on your thermostat that your fan is set to "auto" rather than "on".
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
Electric problems and a/c problems

Checked GFI, trip them and reset them but didn't help. No tripped beakers. Was told I'd might be that I lost half of my transfer switch does this sound right. Someone Else had said that it might be a tripped on the inverter. Not sure where that would be located
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmgllt View Post
Checked GFI, trip them and reset them but didn't help. No tripped beakers. Was told I'd might be that I lost half of my transfer switch does this sound right.
If there are other outlets in your rig that are still hot, then no. It's not your transfer switch. If all outlets and other 120v appliances are dead (check the microwave display), then it's possible that you tripped the breaker out on the power pole you're plugged in to. That would be my next guess. If THAT isn't tripped, then it's possible you do have a faulty transfer switch.

If you have a built in genset you can kick that over and see if your 120v outlets get hot. If not, the next test you can try is to hit your battery disconnect. If the lights stay on with the battery disconnected, then it's not your transfer switch. If they go off, then it could be.

If they DO go off... before assuming it's the transfer switch... I would disconnect your rigs power cable (both ends) and inspect them for any burn marks or damage of any kind to ensure it's simply not just a power transfer issue. Then I would check the outlet you are plugged in to to ensure the outlet is receiving power.

If there is no discoloration or obvious damage, then plug both ends back in securely, reset all of your breakers (main breaker as well). If the problem is not resolved, THEN I would say it is probably your transfer switch.

To verify that, remove the power distribution panel and use a voltmeter to test the incoming power upstream of the transfer switch. If the incoming lines are hot, then you just confirmed you need a new switch.

Taking a step back.. if some of your 120v outlets ARE hot, then forget all of the above. LOL 9 times out of 10 it will either be a faulty breaker or GFI.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:42 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
I assumed you were running on shore power... You're running off a batteries/inverter? If so, what size of inverter do you have?
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
Where can I get a wiring schematic?
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:50 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Unfortunately, Forest River doesn't release wiring schematics. They vary too much even within the same make model and year.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
If your rig is plugged in externally, then you are running on shore power... not an inverter. The other person might have meant your converter.. but that is strictly for your 12v systems. Completely separate from your 120v outlets.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 12:55 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
Yeah that's what I thought too. Everything works except for the two outlets in the bunkhouse the two outlets on that same wall for the wardrobe and the two main TV outlet
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:07 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmgllt View Post
Yeah that's what I thought too. Everything works except for the two outlets in the bunkhouse the two outlets on that same wall for the wardrobe and the two main TV outlet
Then it has to be a faulty GFI (if one is wired on that circuit), or a faulty breaker. It may not appear to be tripped, so ensure you actually flip it full off then back on again.

The only other thing it could be is in the wiring itself. To diagnose that you would need to do a continuity test.

For tonight though, I would just run an extension cord from a working outlet and worry about it in the morning. Just to ensure it's not a faulty electric heater, you might consider running just your furnace.

RV wiring can be really wonky. It's good to test all outlets to see exactly what is on which circuit. I know.. right.. a wiring schematic would REALLY be a handy thing to have.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 01:37 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
There isn't much more you can do about it tonight, but if it were me, tomorrow I would go ahead and pull the breaker and hit the home improvement store. If you have a GFI on that circuit, I would pick up a new GFI, breaker, and if you don't have one yet, an inexpensive voltmeter.

In turn, I would switch them out and see if that resolves the problem. Worst case, you end up with a spare something or other that would be good to have around anyway.. and if it turns out NOT to be the GFI, then the new one is more than likely going to be of higher quality than the one you pulled. All told it shouldn't be more than $20. Less if there is no GFI on that circuit.

Good news though!! It's NOT your cord, power supply, transfer switch or converter.

If a breaker and GFI switch out doesn't cure the problem, then I would first pull all of the outlets.. starting with the one the electric heater was plugged into and inspect for damage. If there is nothing obvious there then you'll need to do a continuity test along each leg of the circuit.

If you DO end up having to run new lines it's generally not that big of a deal. Just attach the new line to the end of the old line and then feed/pull it back through from outlet to outlet.

Hope it works out.
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 04:39 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
edgewant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 590
The following is off topic so I'll be brief:

Yarome. The status under your name is "docker". What is that and how did you get that status?
__________________
edgewant

2013 Berkshire 390RB-60
toad - 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport
edgewant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 05:05 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgewant View Post
What is that and how did you get that status?
No Problem! PM sent...
rana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 09:47 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I would bet that the breaker on the Magnum inverter is tripped. Don't plug your heater into inverted plugs. On top of the inverter is a rocker type switch go and reset it.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:12 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
I have a 2012 390BH, where is the inverter located?
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:19 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Drivers side rear second compartment. The location is different from year to year but it's full of electronic stuff. It is a black box about 12x6x3. A rocker switch on top is a reset breaker and will blow if to many Amps are used in that line.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:21 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
Thanks I'll check it out.
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:23 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1424618544.876869.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	82.1 KB
ID:	70032Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1424618573.290256.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	97.2 KB
ID:	70033



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:34 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
jmgllt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 138
That fixed it THANKS!
jmgllt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 10:35 AM   #20
Cyclone
 
beipers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 182
Jmgllt. Phil is right on the money. I had this happen on my 2013 390BH and it was the inverter pass through breaker.

You were to fast. Glad to see it fixed.
__________________
2015 SOB 5th Wheel
2013 Chevrolet 3500 CC, DD SRW
1 Wife, 2 Kids under 5

Camping nights: 2015 - 19, 2014 - 39, 2013 - 48
beipers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.