Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2020, 10:23 PM   #1

Engine temperature climbing

This is my first year owning an RV, 2008 Berkshire Diesel pusher. When climbing long hills on the interstates my engine temperature gauge climbs to 200+ degrees and getting close to the red zone. I am not pulling any vehicle. Is this customary?
jaykavan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 08:07 AM   #2

Engine temperature climbing

On my 2013 390rb with a 360 hp cummins it’s not unusual to see the temperature climb to 214 deg. The fan clutch then kicks in and the temperature drops pretty quickly to about 185 deg. You might want to put your digital engine temp on your LBCU and watch it. 214 deg is just above midway on my temperature gauge.

Not sure but yours doesn’t seem normal? Have you checked your coolant level lately?

2013 Berkshire 390RB-60
toad - 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport
edgewant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2020, 08:30 AM   #3
Kanadian Kamper

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaykavan View Post
This is my first year owning an RV, 2008 Berkshire Diesel pusher. When climbing long hills on the interstates my engine temperature gauge climbs to 200+ degrees and getting close to the red zone. I am not pulling any vehicle. Is this customary?
Coolant strength and levels.
When was it last changed?
Being it’s your first year.....do you know the answer to any of these?

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD, nicely modified and carried by a 2017 Ford E450 Sport
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count, pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2020, 01:22 AM   #4

My 2008 was doing the exact same thing in July....

Long story short- I ended up having to have the fan clutch replaced which instantly fixed the issue....