RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2015, 06:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
heat pump / furnace

2012 Berkshire 390BH
a/c units ,,front unit has a heat pump setting on the Dometic t /stat and works fine.
Rear unit has a furnace setting (no heat pump setting) and no heat seems
to come out, even when set to 80.
I called dometic and they said to check the dip switches on the unit.
Climb on roof and remove a/c cover ??
Any ideas ?? Thanks 215-771-3030
denniswinokur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 06:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Do you have propane and is the tank turned on? Can you hear any clicking (indicating that the furnace trying to light) when you turn it on? Does the fan for the furnace come on? Just thinking out loud here.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 06:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
accumack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 522
Our Berk only has a heat pump on the front a/c unit the rear unit is a/c only and furnace separate from either and uses propane. Our's is located under the washer and dryer mid coach. You can look for the exhaust on the outside of the coach to give you an idea where it might be on yours. Heat comes out of registers on the floor in ours.
__________________
2011 Berkshire 390-rb-40, upgraded tires and front axle airbags, 2012 Jeep Wrangler 2 door, Blue Ox baseplate and BlueOx aladdin tow bar, Blue Ox Patriot brake system, wiring run through right frame rail and homemade led taillight bar.FB.
Ham KG5LTL.
accumack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2015, 10:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
baddmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Madison, MS
Posts: 154
Same here. 2013 390BH
The front unit is AC with a heat pump while the rear is just AC. We have a front and rear furnace that uses LP gas.

If you set the Zone 2 to furnace (and the temp is cold enough) the unit should come on. The heat will come from the floor vents.

If it isn't working check your LP. If you have gas, then you might reset the controller/thermostat to see if that fixes it. I have had to reset mine before. (I had to look it up on the manual.)
__________________
Brian and Kelly
2016 Entegra Anthem 44B
2013 Jeep Wrangler Sahara Unlimited
baddmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 01:48 PM   #5
Team Bleu
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 99
I have the same problem in my Georgetown was told Furnace is not big enough. Very little heat cones out of the floor vents. I travel with a small portabl Hester to plug in when I'm in cooler weather
DBsRedVett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2015, 02:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: On Another Adventure
Posts: 2,403
My 08 has a heat pump on both front and rear units.... Guess that's another feature they cut out on later coaches....


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2015, 10:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 765
As well as having your propane turned on the propane detector must be on and functional or no gas will get to the furnace. As for the dip switches they are accessible from the inside of the coach. You need to remove the gril from the AC and the is a enclose under it with a PC card where the switches are located. I have no idea how they should be set for your set up as I have the same configuration as ernest917.

The furnace also has an on/off switch. It is on the outside wall side of the coach where you cannot get to without removing the unit. Perhaps they forgot to turn it on at the factory. I have read that that has happen to several people.
silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
I-RV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Laurel, NJ
Posts: 1,024
Dennis
Did your question get answered? We are all waiting to hear from you.
__________________
Gale & Hank- 2012 Berkshire 390BH
I-RV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 10:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBsRedVett View Post
I have the same problem in my Georgetown was told Furnace is not big enough. Very little heat cones out of the floor vents. I travel with a small portabl Hester to plug in when I'm in cooler weather

I'd check for loose alum duct hose. One may be adrift and dumping only to the basement. Not uncommon to come off furnace supply nipples.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 11:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
gasman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southwestern Mi
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by denniswinokur View Post
2012 Berkshire 390BH
a/c units ,,front unit has a heat pump setting on the Dometic t /stat and works fine.
Rear unit has a furnace setting (no heat pump setting) and no heat seems
to come out, even when set to 80.
I called dometic and they said to check the dip switches on the unit.
Climb on roof and remove a/c cover ??
Any ideas ?? Thanks 215-771-3030


I was told once, a while ago, that it is just a matter of setting the right dip switches. I never could find any followup, though. It makes sense since both of my dometic units are identical models. I don't know if the thermostat would recognize the heat pump without some type of reprogramming. Also wonder whether FR chose not to hook these up because of some thought of increased electrical load or other consideration.


Rich
gasman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 11:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
The dip switches are accessed by taking the shroud off the ac. You need to get on the roof of your coach to do this. There is a silver colored metal box with a computer board that has several dip switches. I don't recall which switch needs to be set for the heat pump to be available. Once that is done you need to 'reboot' the system for it to recognize the new setup. If you give Dometic a call, they should be able to give you the information you need.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 03:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
gasman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southwestern Mi
Posts: 1,233
Tom, how did I know that you would have the answer, buddy? You are a wealth of info! Have you done this on yours?




Rich
gasman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 05:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Rich,
Yes, I have done this a couple of times. The last time when I picked my current coach. Ordered with 2 15k ac's and of course it came with a 15k in the rear and a 13.5 in the front. After they changed it, no heat pump in the front showed up. Very easy to fix. Hardest park was getting on the roof. Remove the shroud from the ac, take the cover off the box containing the circuit board, set the dip switch, put everything back together, reboot the system and all was we'll.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 05:55 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Jerry01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Valencia, Ca
Posts: 200
Not sure if I am reading your question correctly. Are you trying to operate your furnace from the rear t-stat? I believe the the furnace is only connected to one t-stat. Have you tried switching the front t-stat to furnace? Jerry.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2005 GMC Sierra 2500HD, Duramax 2WD CC/SB
2013 Cardinal 3030RS full body paint
B&W Companion slider, air bags, EFI Live Custom tuning by So Cal Diesel
Jerry01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 06:53 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
accumack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 522
If you are talking about a rear thermostat that controls the vent fan on our unit. The furnace and heat pump are controlled by the same thermostat mounted mid coach on ours.
__________________
2011 Berkshire 390-rb-40, upgraded tires and front axle airbags, 2012 Jeep Wrangler 2 door, Blue Ox baseplate and BlueOx aladdin tow bar, Blue Ox Patriot brake system, wiring run through right frame rail and homemade led taillight bar.FB.
Ham KG5LTL.
accumack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 07:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
Sounds like you guys are saying that the newer Berkshires (2014) come with two roof AC units capable of heat pump operation but only the front heat pump is activated. And that all we have to do to activate the rear heat pump operation is flip some switches. Am i understanding this correctly?
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 08:43 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
15berkxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Mishawaka
Posts: 576
I asked Mike at FR if my 2015 had a rear HP and he said no and unless you order it special only the front AC unit has a HP.


Wayne
__________________
Wayne
15berkxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 07:16 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Wayne is correct. Unless it is ordered with 2 heat pump ac's. only the front unit will have it. They are 2 different ac units and they need to be built with a heat pump option in order for it to be available to the thermostat.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 09:20 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
gasman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southwestern Mi
Posts: 1,233
I guess I can't say for sure unless I get up there, but when dometic sent info for extended warranty after a year, all documentation on the two units that they sent me (except for serial numbers) was identical.


Rich
gasman94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2016, 03:05 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 76
NOT a cut

[QUOTE=ernest917;1066774]My 08 has a heat pump on both front and rear units.... Guess that's another feature they cut out on later coaches....


This is an option, it is nothing that was "cut" or taken away. Most dealers order the options that are routinely demanded, or that add glitz and bang for the buck. They want to hold the price down, so they do not order options that do not "jump out at you" when you see it at a show or on a lot.
__________________
2016 Berkshire XLT 43a
TwiceTheIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, pump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.