Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2013, 05:28 PM   #1
2011 Berkshire 390BH-60
 
TaterColo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SW Denver Colo
Posts: 310
I checked breakers and fuses up front. All seem good. What am missing? We are in Wisconsin and need AC. GFI will not reset either.

Mine in a 2011 390BH.

Thanks.
Todd
__________________

TaterColo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 05:31 PM   #2
"Roughing it since 2000"
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mooresville, Indiana
Posts: 29
Check breaker at electric post.
__________________

2007flagstaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 06:03 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 21,944
Are you on a 50 amp or 30 amp outlet?

Have you checked the outlet for power and/or the outlets breaker as 2007flagstaff suggested (as this sounds like the culprit)?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Geaux Tigers!!!!
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaterColo View Post
I checked breakers and fuses up front. All seem good. What am missing? We are in Wisconsin and need AC. GFI will not reset either.

Mine in a 2011 390BH.

Thanks.
Todd
Your model coach had a recall for the transfer switch, shore power handover to onboard generator. Have you had it changed?
Have you tried to run the generator to see if it will pick up the loads.
If you haven't yet tried the "post" just be careful, the two outside "plug blades" combine for 220 volts.

If you have any power inside that would be helpful to know. If neither ac will work you probably don't have any AC. Gen test will help determine whats going on. Could be xfer switch is cooked. The more info you can post, will help others help you.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:03 PM   #5
2011 Berkshire 390BH-60
 
TaterColo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SW Denver Colo
Posts: 310
Sorry for the shortness of my first post. I was sitting at a stoplight.

To clarify my original post. I got to our campsite and all works perfectly. It's only when we were going down the road I turn on the generator to run the rooftop AC an micro. Neither works. Hopefully that helps a bit. Again all works fine on 50amp. Just not on the generator.

Thanks again.

Todd
TaterColo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 2,140
You have to wait a few minutes after firing up generator before putting it under a load. If you start gen and immediately try to start AC, it won't work.....
ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 07:39 PM   #7
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,425
Click image for larger version

Name:	20120702_125142-1.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	34741Pull the cover on the breaker panel and check to make sure no wires have come lose from the bus bars, ours did (make sure your not on shore power when you do) we where have all types of problems when this happen.
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:09 PM   #8
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,425
We always wait for a steady green light for AC power in on the montor panel before we turn on the ac units. Our light when turning on the generator goes from off, then blinks a few times then steady green, takes about 30 seconds go go thru the cycle.
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 08:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
I'll return to my original theory and question about the automatic transfer switch. Have you had it changed under the recall? Your case now that everything is fine. The transfer switch is normally closed to the shore power cord, leading power to the breaker panel. When the generator is started and without shore power it will pick up the contacts and connect the generator to the breaker panel. If the switch or controls for the switch are bad, it will not pickup and you'll have no generator feed. Easy to tell if working, it will clunk pretty loudly when the 30 seconds expires and the green light comes on. If you are close you'll hear it. Remove the cover with 4 small bolts, if its failed you can probably tell by looking at it.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
silver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 763
If I understand you it works when plugged into shore power but not when using the generator. Sounds like the circuit breaker on the generator might have tripped. You may want to check that before you begin to take things apart.
silver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 10:05 PM   #11
Director, FROG
 
F.R.O.G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Middlebury, IN
Posts: 2,919
There should be a breaker switch on the top of the generator. Have you checked that? If it's tripped, the generator will run but it won't send power to the coach's AC electrical system.
__________________

Bob Byrne
Director, Forest River Owners' Group (FROG)
frog@forestriverinc.com
www.forestriverfrog.com
F.R.O.G. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 10:29 PM   #12
2011 Berkshire 390BH
 
Superchief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,063
Bob, Been there, done that! Had my generator do the same thing you mentioned, last year. Spent 30 minutes plus checking every fuse, circuit and outlet before considering the breaker on the generator (didn't even think it had one, but looked anyway). Problem solved and was able to make a cup of coffee!!
__________________
Craig



Finally completed all State visits in August 2011 with a trip to North Dakota.
Superchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:21 AM   #13
2011 Berkshire 390BH-60
 
TaterColo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SW Denver Colo
Posts: 310
With all that was out I kept thinking it had to be a breaker. I looked at the generator yesterday and could not find the breaker.

Looked again today and found the breaker located under the oil filler. It was tripped. I reset and tested and all works fine.


Thanks all!

Todd
TaterColo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:25 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Under the oil filter? Which generator do you have? I have an Onan 8kw generator and my breaker is right on the top of the unit towards the front.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:43 AM   #15
Director, FROG
 
F.R.O.G.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Middlebury, IN
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaterColo View Post
With all that was out I kept thinking it had to be a breaker. I looked at the generator yesterday and could not find the breaker.

Looked again today and found the breaker located under the oil filler. It was tripped. I reset and tested and all works fine.


Thanks all!

Todd
Todd, thanks for letting us know how it turned out. I love happy endings!
__________________

Bob Byrne
Director, Forest River Owners' Group (FROG)
frog@forestriverinc.com
www.forestriverfrog.com
F.R.O.G. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:58 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 2,140
Just an additional note: My generator has a fuse that is held in by a spring-loaded cap.... If that cap vibrates loose, say goodbye to cap, fuse and say hello to a generator that will not start.... Ask me how I'm aware of this little situation - yep.. Had it happen to me...

In addition , those spring-loaded caps are almost impossible to find... Plus - the fuse is a weird sized one as well - 14amp I think). (I now carry extras plus I've put a strip of gorilla tape across the cap...)
__________________

ernest917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


×