Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2015, 07:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Issues with TV's

I have Toshiba TV's in my coach (mid coach, over the cab and in the bedroom). When I am watching a channel and I change to another channel and then try to jump back to the first channel, I lose the sound. I must turn the tv off and then back on and the sound come back on. Also, some times when I turn the mid-ship tv on, it will come on and then go off as will the tv over the drivers area. I must unplug the tv for a short time and then plug it in again. It will then work ok. Anyone else having these type of issues with their tv's?
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 10:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
I have Toshiba TV's in my coach (mid coach, over the cab and in the bedroom). When I am watching a channel and I change to another channel and then try to jump back to the first channel, I lose the sound.
Is this a 'satellite' channel or just the 'TV' channel?

Also, some times when I turn the mid-ship tv on, it will come on and then go off as will the tv over the drivers area.
I have had this happen if the remote is pointed at the mid-ship TV. I find that if I always point the remote at the front TV they both come on or off as they should. I have never had to unplug.
Thanks.
Dan
__________________

__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 06:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
I am using campground (Disney -Fort Wilderness) cable.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 06:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Will try pointing remote at front TV. Thanks.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 06:48 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
I am using campground (Disney -Fort Wilderness) cable.
On the losing sound part when swapping channels:

IF there is a 'cable box' I would suspect a loose HDMI cable.
If no box or converter then I don't know.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 06:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
I am using campground (Disney -Fort Wilderness) cable.

Maybe I fairy is messing with you. Check got any suspicious dust.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 07:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
OK - no body like a smart a*s. Just wait 'til Goshen! (LOL!!) I'm telling Mickey on you!
Safe Travels!
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 08:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
OK - no body like a smart a*s. Just wait 'til Goshen! (LOL!!) I'm telling Mickey on you!
Safe Travels!

Oh no Mickey is the last person to
p$ss off. I'll be on the look out. Just leave the fairies and their dust in Orlando I have enough unexplained things going on. See ya in a couple of weeks.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 08:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
oldgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 291
I haven't figured this out.. Our dealer tried to install 3 tv's inside that were all the same brand. I made them swap the middle tv out for a different brand just so we would have "remote" issues. The bedroom and living room tv are way to close to have the same remote. When I asked them to do this they just stared in silence. I'm still not sure they realize why I was asking for this.
__________________
2015 XLR Nitro 30FQSL
2015 F250 King Ranch
oldgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 08:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
All my tv's are Toshiba. The only real issue I have is this sound problem and occasionally when I turn the one mid-ship on, it will go on momentarily then go off. This continues to happen until I unplug the mid-ship TV, plug it back in and then turn it on. Not sure why this occurs.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 09:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmmar View Post
The only real issue I have is this sound problem and occasionally when I turn the one mid-ship on, it will go on momentarily then go off.
If your setup is like mine, the mid and front TVs are connected via a HDMI splitter hooked to the satellite, basically hooking them together. HDMI has a feature called CEC (i think that's what it's called. It allows one TV to turn the other one off and on through the HDMI connection.

If I always point the remote at the front, both TVs will turn off and on simultaneously. If I point the remote at the mid TV it gets flaky sometimes.

I believe you can turn this feature off in the TV menu. Look for a CEC function.

ETA: just found this article on CEC
http://www.howtogeek.com/207186/how-...hy-you-should/
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 01:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Dan,
I don't have HDMI cables. I have the regular RYW component cables. Old school for sure. Don't know why I didn't get HDMI cables. Also, pointing remote at TV over cab instead of at the mid-ship TV had no effect. Same issues.
Tom
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 02:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
kingwood390bh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 270
Just so you you don't feel alone, my midship toshiba does the same thing. I have no explanation or solution
kingwood390bh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 08:30 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,673
Bummer!
__________________

__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


×