RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 09:16 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Satellite signal on outside TV

Just put in an outside TV and am only able to get local channels. The TV will not display the programming that I am watching on the living area TV. What am I doing wrong? Thanks
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 09:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
Just a quick thought- do you have the outside TV on the correct input?
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Tried every input and .......

received a "no signal" notice on all of them.
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:36 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
How are you watching your satellite on the L/R TV?

How do you expect the signal to get from the SAT receiver to any other TV?

__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 01:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
I have a box that the signal goes through.....

and passes to the other televisions. I already get that signal to the bedroomm tv. Same was true of the Alegro Bay that I had before I purchased the Birkshire. Don't know why the signal is not going to the outside television.
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 03:36 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Jim,

What I meant was are you using a coax out of the satelite receiver and then splitting it or is the connection directly to your TV?
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:30 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Should be split since I am getting..

satellite in the bedroom. However, I push the third tv button and still just local channels.
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:39 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,876
Sorry, but I am totally unfamiliar with your coach's AV system.
I thought I could be of help; but no such luck...
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2011, 07:04 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
I only had a few minutes to ........

work on it and had hoped that I might get some tips before I went back. I'm sure I'll find the problem when I go back to mount the television next week. Thanks anyway!
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:44 AM   #10
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
Got mine to work, use the red/white/yellow cables from the direct TV box into the switch box, then also connected the direct TV coax cable to the common feed in the motor home. I also don't understand why the switch box is not able to do this and when i get some time will look into why. My Bedroom TV works fine with the swithc box like it should. Wish Forest River would provide a better wiring diagram to begin with
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 06:54 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 51
Thanks.....

I will give that a try.
BamaCorner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 12:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaCorner View Post
Just put in an outside TV and am only able to get local channels. The TV will not display the programming that I am watching on the living area TV. What am I doing wrong? Thanks
You will have to run the 3 prong video/audio cable from the back of the switch box for TV #3. Once the video/audio cable is run from the switch box to the back of your 3rd TV, you will need to select Aux #1 or Input #1. You should be able to view the satellite or DVD feed from TV #1.
__________________

2008 Forest River Berkshire 390QS
2006 Ford Focus Toad
Sometimes 6X12 enclosed trailer with a
2007 1200c HD Sportster & a 2006
HD Night Train
06nighttrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.