Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2017, 07:37 PM   #1
Member
 
stephencamiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 77
Surge Guard displaying L1

We have a Surge Gaurd 50 amp hooked into our Berk. All has been well for 3 month. We came back from dinner and power is off. The Surge Gaurd display reads L1=Low RV off.
I've tried all the usual things:
-reset the breaker
-checked all fuses
-unplugged and replugged
Keep getting the same error.
Any ideas?
Thanks
stephencamiolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:40 PM   #2
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 434
Have you used a voltmeter out at the pedestal?

Maybe the SurgeGuard is doing its job. If the voltage drops below 102 volts for more than 8 seconds, you get an L-1 fault.

See this link for more details:
http://trci.net/media/36432/40240_tr...ng%20guide.pdf

Pop
__________________
Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:41 PM   #3
Member
 
stephencamiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 77
No but the Surge Gaurd reads L1 as 90 volts which is under the recommended operating power.
stephencamiolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jk510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 292
You'll never figure out which is bad, the surge guard or the power itself, without a volt meter
__________________
Joel K
Southeast AZ
2013 Coachman Mirada 29DSSE
jk510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:48 PM   #5
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,117
That's right....90 volts is way low.

Get your hands on a good volt meter.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S with Trekker cap
and only rarely pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 07:57 PM   #6
Dragonship Captain
 
Oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Eastern PA, USA
Posts: 1,319
Does it reset and go through the 2 minute plus countdown when you unlug/replug it?

And oh yeah, get a volt meter.
__________________
Read about our 2017 38A: https://dragonship.blog/
Oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 08:07 PM   #7
Member
 
stephencamiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 77
After unplugging it goes through the 2 min cycle and then gives the error. I agree with the voltmeter. I have one in the toolbox in KY. Unfortunately we're 800 miles apart. LOL I'll be buying a new one tomorrow. I'll run the gen tonight and have the pedestal checked in the morning
Thanks everyone
stephencamiolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 01:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Swampy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by stephencamiolo View Post
After unplugging it goes through the 2 min cycle and then gives the error. I agree with the voltmeter. I have one in the toolbox in KY. Unfortunately we're 800 miles apart. LOL I'll be buying a new one tomorrow. I'll run the gen tonight and have the pedestal checked in the morning
Thanks everyone
FWIW, Walmart has a nice digital multimeter for around $20 for a few $$ more you can get the set with the non-contact voltage sensor and the outlet tester. It reads as well as my Fluke does.

......... Swampy
Swampy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 01:55 PM   #9
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,066
If it's suddenly giving the error, my bet is the surge guard is doing its job. Talked to the campground? If lots of folks are running electric heaters it could be pulling the voltage down.
__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:15 PM   #10
Dragonship Captain
 
Oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Eastern PA, USA
Posts: 1,319
OTOH, I have a booster/monitor and THEN a Surge Guard. The other day it was claiming one side was low and the booster was perfectly OK with it all......

It didn't shut anything down however.

So, maybe they do see things that aren't there......
__________________
Read about our 2017 38A: https://dragonship.blog/
Oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 02:17 PM   #11
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,164
or you could just try the 30a side and see if it works...
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 04:41 PM   #12
Member
 
stephencamiolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 77
Thanks everyone!
The Surge Gaurd was correct Leg 1 of the 50amp service was only putting out 90 volts. Electrician confirmed and had to fix the pedestal.
All's well now
stephencamiolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 11:10 AM   #13
Dragonship Captain
 
Oscarvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Eastern PA, USA
Posts: 1,319
Cool, it did the job it was paid to do! Possibly saved you from further damage although you will never know!
__________________
Read about our 2017 38A: https://dragonship.blog/
Oscarvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 12:39 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
Saved yo can

It does pay to have a good surge protector! I had the same problem 2 years ago in a campground just south of Cincinnati. Voltage dropped to
102 VAC, surge protector shut all down. Moved to a different pedestal all was ok.

I have a dedicated volt/ohm Fluke meter in my camper, It stays there.
__________________
Sid & HRH MISSY, SHIH TZU
2019 WILDCAT 28 SGX
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS 6.7L/SWD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2019 41 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 09:44 PM   #15
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAISY BOYKIN View Post
I have a dedicated volt/ohm Fluke meter in my camper, It stays there.
You can't go wrong with a Fluke! They're top-tier.

Mine stays in the truck.

Pop
__________________
Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.