RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2015, 10:27 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
I am just trying to locate the other end on the cable that runs from the electrical bay. I need access to it for another purpose. Does it go to the Winegard wall plate?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:35 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogsgocamping View Post
I am just trying to locate the other end on the cable that runs from the electrical bay. I need access to it for another purpose. Does it go to the Winegard wall plate?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

If you are hooked up to cable just start unplugging the cable at the splitter.
If not get a MM and a small wire. Jump the other end with the wire and run a ohm test. You don't need a 50 foot cable.
I agree the sat is most likely not in that mix but something else is. Again I can't help much with out having my Moho with me.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:37 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
http://m.campingworld.com/browse/sku...cEsaAkjX8P8HAQ

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:45 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,577
Generally not. The Winegard plate has the wire from the roof top antenna (interesting on my coach it is not currently used but the antenna seems to function. Perhaps there is another splitter on the roof top unit that I can't see. The cable feed from the electrical bay and the Winegard will generally go to a switch that has antenna, cable and satellite positions. I would turn on the tv and unscrew the input to the splitter, if the tv stops then that's it! Without a switch, I frankly don't know how they switch between the antenna and the park cable input.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:08 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogsgocamping View Post
Does anybody know if any of the cables in this picture come from the cable TV connection in the bay with the inverter? Attachment 96448

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Sorry this post got so far off track. Your question is simple but unfortunately not been answered. I will be home next week and can check. I do know when I was adding a blue ray the splitter in your picture did not work as I expected. I think they use it as a junction box. I had unhooked the input but did not lose the cable tv feed. Very odd. My splitter is exactly like yours.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:17 AM   #26
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Satellite IS a seperate run from outside to inside....park cable run goes to backside of ant' booster switch.....menu on tv chooses the selection you choose.....A 50' coax cable just makes it easier to trace wiring...connect just like a jumper wire, only with positive connections.....it's not rocket science!
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:17 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
http://youtu.be/9AE9F-TLIjk

This is how to check the cable. You can put the jumper on the outside cable hookup and then just test each wire inside until you find the other end.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:19 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
I am not saying I can't figure it out. If someone had already done it time could be saved! Thanks anyway.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:20 AM   #29
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
The outside of cable is ground....the inside is power (hot)
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:24 AM   #30
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogsgocamping View Post
I am not saying I can't figure it out. If someone had already done it time could be saved! Thanks anyway.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
If it were easy, wouldn't be any fun!
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:25 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Well good luck. Sorry for the extra info. I'm out on this one.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:31 AM   #32
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Another reason for using a coax for a jumper is to check to connectors themselves.....have found badly installed ones even on new cables
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
television, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 AM.