RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2015, 08:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
Television wiring

Does anybody know if any of the cables in this picture come from the cable TV connection in the bay with the inverter? Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1450576656845.jpg
Views:	169
Size:	260.8 KB
ID:	96448

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 08:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
This is in behind the TV in the entertainment center.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 09:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edgewant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 590
On my 2013 390RB there is a switch in the entertainment center. In one position you get over the air (OTA) signal from the roof antenna and in the other position you get cable. The cable hook-up in the inverter compartment goes to that switch.
__________________
edgewant

2013 Berkshire 390RB-60
toad - 2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport
edgewant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 09:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
I sure wish the factory would label these types of cables and some of the wiring. It would make life much easier.
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 09:57 PM   #5
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Get you a 50' cable and a muti-meter.... hook one end up to each cable, 1 at a time, and search for the cable connection your curious about.....you'll also need a male to male connector
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 10:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Campin Cajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cut Off, La.
Posts: 1,830
dogs that looks like a simple spitter, I would say that orange cable is the feed. How many TVs do you have in your Moho?
__________________
2013 Berkshire 390BH
Campin Cajun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 10:30 PM   #7
Berkshire 390QS
 
NO3putt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,470
Taking a guess.
The three are going out to TVs. Main cabin, bedroom, outside tv
One coming in is tv antenna, other is outside cable connection.


One way to check, turn on all tv's and disconnect one at a time.

Just a guess.
__________________
2011: 54 days, 2012: 218 days, 2013: 175 days, 2014: 196 days
2015: 188 days, 2016: 72 days, 2017: 185 days: 2018 182 days
2019: 156 days (2009 Berkshire, 390QS, and toad)
NO3putt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 10:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
accumack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 522
The orange wire on ours is for the satellite dish prewired to the roof. My guess would be the black wire next to the orange would be for the cable connection.
__________________
2011 Berkshire 390-rb-40, upgraded tires and front axle airbags, 2012 Jeep Wrangler 2 door, Blue Ox baseplate and BlueOx aladdin tow bar, Blue Ox Patriot brake system, wiring run through right frame rail and homemade led taillight bar.FB.
Ham KG5LTL.
accumack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 11:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,674
Since that splitter only has one 'INPUT' it looks like the White wire feeds from the outside cable connection. But it may also pass through the switch edgewant mentioned above.
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 01:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
No switch. 2 tvs. Wired for 1 outside. Winegard trav'ler and Jack tv. Both of those work. There are jacks for satellite prep and one one the amplifier plate that are not hooked up to anything .
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 07:09 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,577
Hopefully...the white wire is the feed since that is a splitter and the white wire is connected to the input. The rest are outputs!

Now...that being said, you can also use a splitter as a combiner so some of those cables could be inputs as well, but they won't work as well as the actual input. Best idea here is to turn on the TVs and take the cables off one at a time to make sure.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I believe there are several inputs on that splitter. I do wish that FR had marked the cable also.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 05:52 PM   #13
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 13,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
I believe there are several inputs on that splitter. I do wish that FR had marked the cable also.
Phil,
The photo clearly shows the port where the white wire is connected to is the input and marked as such. ALL the others are marked output.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=15
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:06 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Phil,

The photo clearly shows the port where the white wire is connected to is the input and marked as such. ALL the others are marked output.

Yes it does just like mine does. Except I only have 3 TV's so that's 4 cables 3 for the TVs and one input. The other I assume is for sat so it must also be a input.
As I said I wish they would have marked them.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:16 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 112
But the input from where? Cable, antenna or satellite?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
Jeff and Elaine
2011 Berkshire 390QS
2 Lab Dogs-Eros and Star
1 Cockatiel-Lucky
dogsgocamping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 01:52 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West Michigan/Fort Myers
Posts: 3,927
I don't know. We are not in our Moho right now we are in Michigan for Christmas. If I remember correctly on mine I was messing with the cable and unhooked the input and did not loose the signal. I was hooked up to the parks cable tv at the time. I will try it when I get home after Christmas.



Phil57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:09 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
JTN8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 619
Just to add one thing, I would doubt any of those are coming directly from the satellite dish. You can not use a splitter between the dish and receiver because the signal will not work. You can however split the signal coming out of the receiver to the TV's.

Jason
JTN8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:26 AM   #18
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
No splitter in sat. in-feed from outside connector to receiver
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:31 AM   #19
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 13,331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil57 View Post
Yes it does just like mine does. Except I only have 3 TV's so that's 4 cables 3 for the TVs and one input. The other I assume is for sat so it must also be a input.
As I said I wish they would have marked them.
I can't say whether the other wire is for a sat or what it is for but please don't continue to assume it's an input to that particular splitter. It will never work. That splitter is designed for one input only.

As has been mentioned many times in this thread, a conventional splitter such as the one shown in the photo will not work between the satellite receiver and the dish. They do make splitters that will pass voltage but this isn't one of them.

Having the wires marked would be a big help. Access to wiring diagrams would be an even bigger help. I'm not sure why FR wants to keep that so secretly guarded.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '18=51 '19=58 '20=110 '21=15
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 08:33 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 2,577
Sat feeds are complicated. DirecTV and Dish use different interfaces between the receiver and the active components in the dish but both power the LNBs through the coax. On DirecTV there are two "bands" that the dish will pick up and the switch between those bands is accomplished by putting two different voltages from the receiver and the dish. A splitter will block those voltages and not allow correct tuning of channels. You can get a multiplexer adapter that will feed two separate cables to the dish, one for low voltage and the other for high. Then you can put multiple receivers into the adaptor at it will automatically route each receiver to the correct band in the dish. But this is really way to complicated for an RV install, not to mention the requirement to have two separate cables from the multiplexer to the dish. Most RV companies only snake a single coax to the roof.

As a result, the cable from the receiver to the dish must be a "home run" i.e. a direct connection with no taps or splitters.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
television, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 AM.