Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-19-2013, 01:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
$500 to upgrade to digital thermostat???

I just got off the phone with my dealer regarding replacing my analog Colman Mach thermostat with a digital thermostat. I was told that it would cost $500 to $600 and that the wiring would need to be replaced to do the upgrade. This sounds outrageous to me. It looks like people upgrade to digital thermostats all the time and I've never seen where they had to replace the wiring.

PLEASE HELP!!!!
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Proabably more leads needed, don't think he wants the job!
__________________

VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:35 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
Why would they need to replace the wiring? Think he's blowing smoke.

In fact, Coleman Mach even makes a digital version of their analog t-stat IIRC. I think the cost is $75 for the unit and its the same wiring.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
There are 6 wires in my current thermostat. Is that what you mean by leads?
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Run, don't walk, away from that dealer as quickly as possible. Look for a mobile RV tech in your area. They will be able to take care of you on your schedule for a reasonable price.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 01:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtintx View Post
I was told that it would cost $500 to $600 and that the wiring would need to be replaced
Sounds crazy. Here is a link to a thread on upgrading to a 'household' digital thermostat. Has some nice pictures to go with the explaination. The wiring is not an exact match. The trailer has a 2 speed fan, and the replacement is only setup for one speed, so the solution in that case was to only wire up the high setting.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...all-38349.html

Or for a few extra bucks (not hundreds) you get the Coleman Mach digital version. It's an exact replacement as far as the wiring, and I believe the mounting screw locations, so truly a do-it-yourself job. It's digital, but not programable. Not sure if that matters to you...
Attached Images
 
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 02:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
I thought that sounded crazy.
KMP44 - do you know if there is soldering involved? I looks like the original one may be soldered and I don't have the equipment or knowledge to solder/desolder.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 03:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
KMP44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Central New York
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtintx View Post
do you know if there is soldering involved?
I have installed and replaced a bunch of residential thermostats - never had to solder any of them - always screw terminals to connect to. I have not changed one in an rv - but even if the present one is soldered, you should have enough slack in the wire to cut it as close to the old thermostat as possible and then strip the cut end to attach it to the screw terminals on the new one.
__________________


2017 F-250
2013 Rockwood Roo 23 IKSS
KMP44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 05:10 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMP44 View Post
I have installed and replaced a bunch of residential thermostats - never had to solder any of them - always screw terminals to connect to. I have not changed one in an rv - but even if the present one is soldered, you should have enough slack in the wire to cut it as close to the old thermostat as possible and then strip the cut end to attach it to the screw terminals on the new one.
Thank you.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 05:52 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jimmerinwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 111
I replaced my stock thermostat in my 96 wilderness about 10 years ago to a digital house thermostat. Don't know how different things are now compared to a 96, but it was no big deal to do, and I used the existing wires, mind you I only have one a/c and the furnace.
__________________
Some days I wake "Grumpy", Some days I just let her sleep......(Ray Scott)
Jimmerinwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:26 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 280
I just replaced my Coleman thermostat to a Coleman digital unit. The thermostat can be ordered through Camping World special order department, (800) 622-6264 and shipped direct to you by Coleman. Cost was $66.00 plus a few pennies. The replacement unit has six wire leads and they connect to the six leads existing in the RV wall. Same color code and uses wire nuts from the original unit. Go online to Coleman site and pull up thermostats. You will have several displayed, but will easily identify the features you need and the correct thermostat. The dealer is simply "incorrect" in his pricing. Takes all of ten minutes to change out, if you are drinking coffee!
l001952119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtintx View Post
I thought that sounded crazy.
KMP44 - do you know if there is soldering involved? I looks like the original one may be soldered and I don't have the equipment or knowledge to solder/desolder.
NO soldering, just use the existing wire nuts.
l001952119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:36 PM   #13
Member
 
GABandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 49
It should hook up straight with what you have. Its really no big deal.
__________________
[B]2014 Rockwood 2306 with Murphy Bed
2011 Chevrolet 1500
GABandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 07:51 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
Update: Just in case anyone is wondering. I went the the dealership and talked to them in person. They are very helpful when you go there in person. They told me which digital thermostat to purchase...but they were wrong. The part number they gave me was for a two stage thermostat. Anyhow, thanks to you good folks on here and some research online I was able to order the correct thermostat. They told me they would install if for half the labor cost to make up for the misinformation but I think I'll keep that $80 in my pocket and do it myself.

Debating if I should let them know they told me to get the wrong thermostat. Not to rub it in their face but to hopefully prevent them from telling others incorrect information.

Thanks again. You guys are great!!!
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 01:45 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,353
Just upgraded my Coleman Mach analog to a new digital. 6 wires with wire nuts behind the old one. When you first look at the old one without taking the old one loose it looks like it is soldered in but behind it is wire nuts. Dirt simple. New one now installed but camper not parked where I can power it up yet. Hope to try soon. When I was done though I could see the 'room' temp readout on the display. Bought on Amazon for around $75.00
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 05:18 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
I'm excited! I ordered a new t-stat and I am ready to try to install it. Looks pretty simple. I always relied on DH to take care of this kind of stuff so it's somewhat gratifying to find out that I can do some of this on my own now that he has passed.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2014 Rockwood 2304S
2011 Nissan Titan
jtintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 06:05 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orange Texas
Posts: 764
Send a message via MSN to Tiggerdad
Why in the world would a 2014 unit not have a digital thermostat?

Don't answer that question. I already know the answer.
__________________

2013 Crusader 330 MKS
2013 Chevrolet Silverado LT 2500 D/A
Tiggerdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 09:20 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,568
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtintx
I'm excited! I ordered a new t-stat and I am ready to try to install it. Looks pretty simple. I always relied on DH to take care of this kind of stuff so it's somewhat gratifying to find out that I can do some of this on my own now that he has passed.
Thats good, maybe stop by a dollar store and locate some cheap "Jeweler screwdrivers. The larger straight blade should be about right for the wire terminals. Have fun, make sure to open or disconnect all voltage sources. IE:Open battery disconnect switch.
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 07:46 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiggerdad View Post
Why in the world would a 2014 unit not have a digital thermostat?

Don't answer that question. I already know the answer.
I 100% agree my 2014 came with the old school analog but my friends 2013 aframe came with digital. and my Unit cost 2x the price of his
__________________
2013 Ram 1500 (5.7)
2014 Rockwood Mini Lite 2104s
https://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...ps412bc14c.jpg
Prothos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 01:27 PM   #20
Hawksclaw554
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Watson, Louisiana
Posts: 39
2014 Forest River 8289ws with Diamond Package, Dual Air 50 amp service. Just wondering why Forest River installed a Digital Thermostat on my bedroom air and Analog (outdated technology) in the living area for air and heat. You would think in 2014 they would be using nothing but digital. Who knows. Will be replacing it asap with digital.
__________________

Hawksclaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
500, thermostat, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


×