Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
timarti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 241
AC use in trailer at home

I have been reading online that if you plug the trailer into a regular 30 amp 240 circuit such as one might have at home ,you will fry everything since RV 30 amp is 110 volt not 220/240.
So, two questions - are the plugs not different so you could not make that mistake, and if planning to install a 30 amp receptacle one should make sure it is an RV 30 110 single breaker?

There was a recent thread on here talking about running the trailer AC at home and what was required, but no mention of 110 volt versus 220/240.

Hubby, who has done a lot of electrical work, had never herard of RV-30 amp. I showed him this site.

RV Electric
__________________
Tina & Ted & pooches
2012 Ford F-150 XLT 5.0L V8 4x4 with tow package
Andersen WD hitch with sway prevention
2012 Rockwood UltraLite 2304s trailer
timarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:18 PM   #2
Too old to be too smart
 
SpringerPop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: La La Land
Posts: 433
The 30-amp page at that site is as good as it gets.

Make sure he reads and UNDERSTANDS it before proceeding to wire up a receptacle at your home.

Why don't you read and understand it, too, then act as his "inspector".

Resolve any discrepancies before anything gets plugged in.

Remember, take power from ONE LEG ONLY! No double breakers, only ONE required (a single 30-amp). Provide both neutral and ground. Use no other receptacle!

Pop
__________________
Terry 250RKS, perfect for the two of us and the pups.

2000 F-350 7.3L CC/LB 4WD Lariat 3.73's
SpringerPop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:34 PM   #3
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
Half a dozen members here became members when they logged on to discover why, when they had a "qualified" electrician wire up their RV plug; their camper melted into a puddle of aluminum.

30 amp RV plugs are NOT 220.

They LOOK like a 220 dryer socket; but they are certainly; not...

They are 110 VAC and are wired as such.
One Black HOT; One White NEUTRAL; and a copper ground wire.
Read and Heed attached information.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 38 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
timarti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Near North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 241
Thanks! No matter how much I read, there is always something new to get into trouble with, and we don't even have the trailer yet! We pick it up tomorrow (2304s).

So far, KEEP THE BLACK TANK VALVE CLOSED (unless dumping) Is the highest on the list of 101 ways not to mess up. Ranks right along up there with "don't squat with spurs on"
__________________
Tina & Ted & pooches
2012 Ford F-150 XLT 5.0L V8 4x4 with tow package
Andersen WD hitch with sway prevention
2012 Rockwood UltraLite 2304s trailer
timarti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lebanon MO
Posts: 150
Am I missing something. I just plug my 30amp plug into a RV 110 adapter and plug it into my garage outlet. WA LA, I have AC.
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,536
if there are 3 prongs and one is round, round is ground. one of the other spades is neutral and the other is hot. the 3prong 220 does not have a round pin on it.
the 220/110 50 amp; round is ground. two of the spade pins are hot and one is neutral (4 total).

someone may be able to find an exception to this but i look for the round pin. problem comes in when someone wires it wrong. i'd still check voltages before i plug in.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:27 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
acadianbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
Posts: 3,155
Quote:
Originally Posted by racerx View Post
Am I missing something. I just plug my 30amp plug into a RV 110 adapter and plug it into my garage outlet. WA LA, I have AC.
You're fine there. That's what I do at home too and it will run the air as long as nothing else big is running; like the microwave or water heater. It's all 110V. You are just using a 15 amp circuit (maybe 10 or 20) vs RV 30 amp.
__________________
https://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp297/acadianbob/IMG_2757.jpg
2018 F250 Lariat 6.2 4X4 w 4.30s, 2018 Wildcat 29RLX
2012 BMW G650GS, Demco Premiere Slider
1969 John Deere 1020, 1940 Ford 9N, 1948 Ford 8N
Jonsered 535, Can of WD-40, Duct Tape
Red Green coffee mugs
acadianbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dodge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,308
It`s wired up just like a typical 15A or 20A outlet, just with larger GA. wire and an RV style outlet. I did mine myself and it works great!
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 350TS, Hellwig front/rear sway bars, Sumo Springs, Blue OX True Center steering damper
2013 Ford Explorer LTD toad, Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP><Tow Brake

Better to have a bad day of camping than a good day at work!
Dodge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:56 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Blackrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SE Arizona's Gila Vally
Posts: 1,228
Just brought my new 2012 Flag 25DS home Friday and wired in a 20A RV box on Saturday and plugged her in. So I had a nice cool trailer while I was setting everything up inside. AZ heat at 100+ and high humidity.
__________________
2016 RAM 1500 - 2016 Keystone Laredo 265SRK
The road goes on forever and the party never ends.
Blackrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:57 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Taranwanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: NEPA
Posts: 1,470
Just be careful of your line voltage using a 15A circuit and a 15A cord. When I plugged in my new surge guard, it wouldn't let the power flow with the AC on because the 15A dropped the voltage below safe levels. If you don't have a surge guard, it will work, but you can "voila!" fry your compressor too. Go with a 20A if you can.
__________________
2015 XLR Hyperlite 30HFS5 (mods being performed regularly)
2009 Salem LA 292fkds (gone)
Nights- ('12)23 ('13)23 ('14)15 ('15)31 ('16)27 ('17) 20 (18)21 (19)23
2019 Honda CRV (camping support vehicle)
2014 Harley Davidson FLHX (XLR cargo)
2011 Ram 2500 CC 4X4 CTD, B&W Companion (toy hauler hauler)
Taranwanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:23 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by acadianbob View Post
You're fine there. That's what I do at home too and it will run the air as long as nothing else big is running; like the microwave or water heater. It's all 110V. You are just using a 15 amp circuit (maybe 10 or 20) vs RV 30 amp.
so just to double check, i just bought a new twist lock 30A power cord for my trailer. i went ahead and bought the adapter that goes from the standard 30A blades to the conventional 110v 3 prong household plug. the dealer told me it would melt the adapter after a while and not hurt anything else. is this true? i realize that anything else should not simultaneously operate, but i had no problems with my last trailer when i did this. i was thinking the a/c needed a minimum/maximum of 20 amp protection. all help is appreciated. i'm just a little nervous with this newer trailer. i know i can always run my generator while at the house. i'm currently gathering up the supplies i need to run a separate breaker box just for the RV. thanks!
Ricky from Texas
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:19 PM   #12
Experienced Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: My house, sometimes my camper
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyKyle View Post
i went ahead and bought the adapter that goes from the standard 30A blades to the conventional 110v 3 prong household plug.
Is this the style that has a few inches of wire in between the plugs or the hockey puck style?

I've seen melted puck styles in several places.
__________________

2011 Silverado CC/SB
2014 Cougar 31SQB
mhartzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
yessir, couple of inches between the plugs(factory stamped 15A/125V).
i also have the puck style which has no stamping.
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:44 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
i bought the yellow one today. the black one i found in one of the drawers of the trailer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_0984.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	16934  
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 02:59 PM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyKyle View Post
the dealer told me it would melt the adapter after a while and not hurt anything else. is this true?
No. No idea where that came from. Those adapters are rated for 20 amps so your house breaker would trip before any damage could be done to your adapter if you tried to overload it.

Gosh, I hate dealers. Deleted a whole paragraph of rant.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:02 PM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyKyle View Post
i bought the yellow one today. the black one i found in one of the drawers of the trailer.
When was the last time you changed it's drawers?
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:03 PM   #17
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
I bet the outlet your plugging into is NOT 20 amp but merely 15amp.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 03:24 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Poppy94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
When was the last time you changed it's drawers?
new drawers to me. just bought the trailer. thanks y'all for the help! and you're right, i'll be plugging in to a 15A until i can install a new breaker switch just for the RV. TTFN
Poppy94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.