Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2015, 10:39 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
AC will not come on

Camping this weekend and the ac on our Roo23SS will not run. Plugged into 50 amp circuit. Reset breaker. Pulled fuses and they look fine.
Blower will run but the compressor will not come on.

Looking for ideas and suggestions.
__________________

__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
cstover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Where the USCG sends us.
Posts: 371
Sounds like the compressor is locked up. Just had mine replaced for the same issue. Mine was brand new, 1st time using it.
__________________

cstover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
cstover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Where the USCG sends us.
Posts: 371
You could always have a mobile repair man come. Might get lucky and it be a relay or capacitor.
cstover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 07:59 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
I recall getting a click by either sound or feel when I adjusted the thermostat. Now I do not. Unit has the basic thermostat control.
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 08:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Also tried to fire up the heat. Furnace does not come on. Bad thermostat?
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 08:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Tested the voltages. Between ground and ac only getting 8.5 volts. Other spots like fan, getting 12.
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 09:06 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 497
maybe turn it off and let it sit for a while
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 09:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 62
Turn the thermostat OFF then try unplugging the 50 power then disconnect the battery. Yes take both the + and the - cables off for about 60 seconds. Reconnect the battery then Plug the power back in and turn the AC back on.
I was told this by a long time RV Service Manager and it acts as a "reset". It has worked for me.
Bamamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
I was in the AC business for 40 years,,,,,so my experience in what you're saying is that IF the fan runs when you have it on "Auto"......zero in on the AC package itself. It's getting electricity,,,,,,so I've found many a capacitor causing the problem you're describing.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:27 PM   #10
jkoenig24
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Box Elder, SD (formerly NY)
Posts: 736
"Pulled fuses and they look fine. "

Fuses are for 12VDC items. Air conditioner is a 110VAC appliance. You need to find and check the Circuit Breaker that controls your air conditioner. Once you figure out which is the correct circuit breaker, switch if off (it may not be obvious the it's been tripped). Then switch it back on.
jkoenig24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 442
If the fan on the AC is working,,,,the circuit breakers are OK,,,,,,it's going to be something other than that.
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 02:18 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grampa Jim View Post
If the fan on the AC is working,,,,the circuit breakers are OK,,,,,,it's going to be something other than that.
This is true, Your internal over load could be open on the compressor. It has to cool to reset. If the blower comes on and doesn't trip the breaker.

1) Off on internal overlaod/ cause short cycle low on freon
2) bad start and run capacitor
3) Contactor not pulling in on all legs
4) short in yellow wire from stat
5) low voltage
It could take 24 hrs to reset internal overload depending how hot it got, What you can do to shorten that period is to place a bag of ice on the dome of the compressor. If your compressor was shorted out between the windindings you would pop your breaker everytime. Just some idea's for you to check..
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 03:01 PM   #13
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,309
Check inside breakers. Not fuses.
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 03:26 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 497
if you have a Dometic a/c, heat control call the factory on reseting the control . ive done that with mine to get to work
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 04:48 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcheatwood View Post
Check inside breakers. Not fuses.
The blower is working so it is getting 110v....
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 08:37 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Tried the full power down. No change. When on auto it does nothing. Have to switch to ON to get fan to run. All breakers toggled, no change.
If the ac was dead would that stop the furnace from working? Furnace won't come on either.
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 04:22 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurgPath View Post
Tried the full power down. No change. When on auto it does nothing. Have to switch to ON to get fan to run. All breakers toggled, no change.
If the ac was dead would that stop the furnace from working? Furnace won't come on either.
No it should not, If your fan is coming on when you put it fan on then you have power to the stat. It sounds like your stat went. If you stuck and need A/C, shut the power off 110v and disconnect 12v. Pull your cover off the stat add a jumper between RC and Yellow wires. That would bring your A/C on, but it would stay on until you remove that jumper. Your subase that i'm talking about just acts as a switch. Depending on the circuit base you might need to add the green for the fan but I doubt it. The circuit board in the

A/C should take care of that, bringing the blower on. Hope I did not confuse you. You can also try and jumper red to white, to see if the Fau will come on. If all this works it will be the stat itself, which could mean either the subase or control. Either way you will need a new one. Any battery operated stat should work get one from HD or Lowes. You can look up how to wire it on this forum many threads. Or PM me....Good Luck.. If you had a set of alligator clips much easier to do. IMO everyone should carry a set in there RV tool box's. They come in handy.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 05:11 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Thanks for the help everyone. Never really needed the AC, got lucky. Was a cool enough weekend that a fan was all we needed.

Will tackle this next weekend.

Look up Rock Island State Park in TN for a nice weekend trip. Lots of hiking and some amazing waterfalls.
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 05:49 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Finally got to test this.

Jumpered the thermostat on low and the AC came on and ran like it should.
Woohoo!

Bad thermostat!

Now to find a replacement.
__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2015, 06:10 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
BurgPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Knoxville, Tn
Posts: 162
Based on what I've read, this thermostat will work.
Honeywell Digital Non-Programmable Thermostat-RTH111B - The Home Depot

Thoughts?
__________________

__________________
Kevin (BurgPath)
2018 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS

2017 Ford F350 CCSB
Mods and Pics
BurgPath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


×