Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2022, 06:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
All TVs says no signal

I have a 2014 Georgetown 35 an I no longer have TV cable or over the air. Last time I used my RV a few months ago there were no issues. I am not sure what changed? I have checked connections to cable coming into RV. Checked all cables to TVs and vision box. Made sure booster was off when trying to program Cable TV. Made sure booster was on when trying to program air ways tv. All I get from TV is snow and no signal. Any thoughts?
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 06:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 148
Are you in an area that has no local reception over the air?
Check with your neighbors…
__________________
2017 Georgetown 31R5
2019 Indian Roadmaster
Dan_Frisbie is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 06:16 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
No. I am in Orlando and others have both over air and cable.
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 06:32 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 15
Check that the tv's are on the right input
dc99 is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 06:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,951
if your setup is like my GT there are only 3 common connections. 1. the output from the Movie Vision Box/2. The splitter that the box goes to/ 3. The TV's if all are doing the same. If only one TV is bad could be the splitter or TV. Perhaps.
bubbles is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 06:52 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
The TV input is correct. Thanks. It is both TVs one in bedroom and other in living room. Will not auto tune keeps coming up no signal. Could the movie vision gone bad to not provide the signal?
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 07:30 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
Forgot about the two TVs in the bunks. They are not working either. No signal. Checked all connections I can visibly see are there others in walls or outside RV that could possibly come loose?
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 07:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 4,016
Every TV/Cable/Sat wall plate has connections behind it that could have come loose. It sounds like you probably have a spitter that splits the signal to all the TV's and the bad connection would be somewhere before the input to that splitter.
NavyLCDR is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 07:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmarcum View Post
Forgot about the two TVs in the bunks. They are not working either. No signal. Checked all connections I can visibly see are there others in walls or outside RV that could possibly come loose?
This is a Gt360 that also has bunks and perhaps your interconnects are similar.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf GT 360 TV.pdf (301.8 KB, 33 views)
bubbles is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 07:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,951
It would appear in the GT360 diagram with the issue you have the only possible common interconnects are the Movie Vision Box output and the splitter that output is connected to.

Just a note. With the Movie Vision selector box installed it matters not if the over the air antenna booster panel is on or off for park cable viewing.
bubbles is offline  
Old 11-26-2022, 08:35 PM   #11
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 30,343
Moved thread from the On the Road/Travel Chat section's Eastern USA sub-forum to the Appliances and Electronics sub-forum since the OP's topic is about Electronics.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now  
Old 11-27-2022, 02:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 6,687
Time to start testing--Divide and conquer

Grab a 25' piece of cable and a barrel connector (connects two F-connector cables together).
  1. Sanity check: Connect from cable box directly to each TV, using the 25' cable and make sure each can receive the signal, using the new cable. Then restore the original connections.
  2. With park cable connected to the trailer, at the area of the antenna amplifier, disconnect the cable input and output cables and connect them together with the barrel connector. Test for cable signal at all three TVs. Restore the original connections.
  3. At the area of the antenna amplifier, disconnect the output and use the 25' cable to connect successively to each of the three TVs. Turn the amplifier on and test at each TV. Restore the original connections.
  4. Disconnect the Movie Vision box and bypass it, using the barrel connector. Test for signal at each TV. Then restore the original connections.
  5. Disconnect the splitter and use the barrel connector to first bypass the splitter to the first TV and test, and then bypass the splitter to the second TV and test. Then restore the original connections.
In the tests above, don't forget to run a cable scan or Over-The-Air scan at each TV during each test. Rotate the OTA antenna if necessary.

Let us know what works and what does not.
__________________
Larry

Sticks and Bricks: Raleigh, NC
2008 Cherokee 38P: at Ivor, VA permanently
Larry-NC is offline  
Old 11-27-2022, 02:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lodi, CA
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmarcum View Post
No. I am in Orlando and others have both over air and cable.
Several times over the years I’ve had no cable signal at an RV site, only to find that I had to extend my cable over to an adjacent site to get a signal.
Sbosserman is offline  
Old 11-27-2022, 03:53 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
I connected to the site next to me it didn’t work from there either. Been on the road moved to another site. I finally had time to check connections behind the movie vision box and there was the loose connection behind the panel coming up to the splitter. Thanks to all for their help and thoughts.
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 11-27-2022, 04:26 PM   #15
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 16,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmarcum View Post
I connected to the site next to me it didn’t work from there either. Been on the road moved to another site. I finally had time to check connections behind the movie vision box and there was the loose connection behind the panel coming up to the splitter. Thanks to all for their help and thoughts.
So you tightened the connection and everything works OK now?

Sent from my SM-G996U using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
2022 Cedar Creek 345IK 5th Wheel•Solar & Inverter•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '18=48 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=112 '23=32
5picker is offline  
Old 11-27-2022, 08:27 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 6
Yes. Thanks
Jmarcum is offline  
Old 12-02-2022, 11:01 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 7
Omnidirectional Antenna

Our 2015 is equipped with an omnidirectional antenna and for some reason the coax wire inside has broken. Probably because we hit a branch at one time or another and the head became loose and could spin around breaking the coax. We bought a table top antenna from Walmart and found all the TV's worked so now we are currently having a new antenna put on. $150 for the antenna plus labor.
Jlakemonter is offline  
Old 12-02-2022, 02:02 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 17
No TV

Rescan your signals on your TV menu lists. If they are not scanned it they will show up as no signal.
stepha.fleming is offline  
Old 12-02-2022, 02:21 PM   #19
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 19,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepha.fleming View Post
Rescan your signals on your TV menu lists. If they are not scanned it they will show up as no signal.
Please see post #14 where the OP said he solved his problem.
__________________
2015 FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 135; Booked for 2023 = 28
Mr. Dan is offline  
Old 12-02-2022, 05:34 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 135
I had the same problem and eventually found that the coax cables actually came loose from the back of the switch box
jdkbrooks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.