RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2012, 04:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
cable tv problem

I have a 2012 sunseeker 3170ds. It has 3 tv's on it and I am able to receive cable tv on 2 of them but the rear bedroom will not work with cabe, However it works perfect with over air signal. Any help with where to check.
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:07 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
park cable may not be ran to rear bedroom only over the air cable .
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:00 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
It worked,however it was a very poor picture.
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:06 PM   #4
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Well, if you get over the air TV to all 3 TVs; then you should get cable TV to all 3 TVs.

Since you do, but one is "snowy" then I am thinking there is a high resistance (bad) splitter or cable that feeds the TV that is "snowy".

My guess is that lower channel cable comes in OK but the higher numbers are the bad ones. Higher frequencies have a hard time getting through corrosion or other high resistance connection (like a bad coil in the splitter).

I would start there. Cable connections and replace the splitter. Now, where that particular splitter is located is a mystery you will need to solve.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
So far I only found 1 splitter ,I will change out and see what happens. Thanks
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:54 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy267 View Post
So far I only found 1 splitter ,I will change out and see what happens. Thanks
Is the splitter a 3 way? An input and 3 outputs?
or just a 2 way. An input and 2 outputs?

The 2nd photo is a 4 way. 1 Input 4 outputs.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
Its a 2 way located under middle tv near bunk beds.
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:03 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy267 View Post
Its a 2 way located under middle tv near bunk beds.
See if you can locate the coax going back the the TV that does not work well. Swap the coax with the one going to the middle TV.

If the problem moves to the middle TV; replace the splitter.

If not repair the cable ends on the cable to the rear TV.
If new cable ends do not fix the problem; replace the cable run.

Since you are getting over the air TV the TV itself has to have cable and digital tuners; so that is not the problem.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 09:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
I will try,I'll get back to you and let you know how I make out. Thanks for your help!
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
Up to 2 splitters found so far, still looking.
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:54 PM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy267 View Post
Up to 2 splitters found so far, still looking.
With 3 TVs, you should only have 2 splitters.

Source
| - Splitter 1
Feed to 2nd splitter and TV1
| - Splitter 2
TV2 and TV3
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:22 AM   #12
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
Here are the 3 places I would check...
1. The only splitter in the unit is located under the "kid zone" (middle) tv. Maybe it has gone bad?
2. Next to the bunk beds/sofa in kid zone there is a wierd shaped cushion on top of a carpeted pedestal. take off the cushion and pull up the carpeted pedestal. It should be easily removable. Under there you should find a barrell connector. make sure the connections to that are tight and the cables are intact.
3. behind the bedroom tv there is a wall plate where the cable from the tv connects to. make sure the connections are secure on the front and back of this plate.
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:44 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 74
I haven't been able to try this yet, but I saw a post on another thread.

Make sure the signal boost button is turned off on the antenna when using cable, this may fix the "snowy" condition.
__________________
2011 SunSeeker 3170DS
hunt247 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:58 AM   #14
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by hunt247 View Post
I haven't been able to try this yet, but I saw a post on another thread.

Make sure the signal boost button is turned off on the antenna when using cable, this may fix the "snowy" condition.
The "Booster" button is more than a power supply for the roof antenna booster amp. It is a switch that switches between the roof antenna and the external cable connection.

If he is getting good roof signal on the other TVs it can't be the amp.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Winegard Wall PLate Amp.pdf (143.1 KB, 26 views)
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:47 PM   #15
Coachmen Adrenaline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 254
The wall plate allows us at the factory to plug in the antenna and cable to one spot, and then only have to run one coax to the tv's for both signals. When watching cable, if the button is depressed and the plate is on, the cable reception and picture will be distorted and snowy in most cases.
jamiller45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:00 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
themiddletonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maple Ridge, BC
Posts: 8
Try changing the f81 fitting ( female on both ends ) on the wall plate before running a new cable feed.
themiddletonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 10:46 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 40
I Think I found the problem, The orange color cable line that runs between the bunk bed/sofa and the middle tv. I bypassed it with a new line and it worked perfect. I dont under stand how the old line works fine with the over the air tv signal but dont work with the cable signal? I still have to look at the old line to see if its pinched/damaged it got dark out to check tonight.
badboy267 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 06:46 AM   #18
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy267 View Post
I Think I found the problem, The orange color cable line that runs between the bunk bed/sofa and the middle TV. I bypassed it with a new line and it worked perfect. I don't under stand how the old line works fine with the over the air TV signal but don't work with the cable signal? I still have to look at the old line to see if its pinched/damaged it got dark out to check tonight.
Today's "over the air" broadcast channels are digital. They either have enough signal (and play); or they don't (and don't play). Corroded or damaged F connectors can "leak" signal to the point that only very strong signals get through. Slight imperfections in the cable don't have much effect on digital signals because to display on the TV they need to be pretty strong to begin with.

Cable however is analog. To separate the many cable channels sent down the coax cable each is assigned a frequency band. The lower the frequencies are less likely to be effected by signal loss than higher ones.

We used to have this same problem around here when I was younger "channel 3" would come in "OK" but 6 was real snowy and 10 did not come in at all. The fix was always on the roof where dad would cut off the old connector and put on a new one.

The fact that 2 of of 3 were OK on both TV and cable pointed pretty strong that the cable was the culprit.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.