Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2021, 10:31 PM   #1

Converter Not Working With Generator

Hi,

I’m fairly new to trailers but recently purchased a 2020 Grey Wolf Limited.
We are planning to do a lot of dry camping, normally for just a weekend but sometimes 7-10days. The trailer had an interstate lead acid battery that was not going to do the job. I purchased 4x 3.2v LifePo4 with a BMS and they are really good, couldn’t be happier with them.

They will last the week if the kids don’t leave things on etc.. When connected to shore power, just a 15A cord with the little adaptor to convert to the trailers 30A 120v cord, the batteries will charge, the BMS shows it charging, when towing it also charges. Now when I connect the trailer to a generator it does not. It’s a brand new 3600w generator with a 30A receptacle on it, it has a digital screen showing me that it puts out 121v at 60hz and yet it won’t charge them. It’s an inverter generator so it shouldn’t be putting out noisy AC. All of the breakers are good, the fuses are good, every 120v outlet works, the microwave and the fireplace all work including the aircon. It must be the converter not liking a generator, but what’s the fix here?
Is there a different converter I put in it instead, do I just get a regular battery charger and hook it straight to the batteries and run that on the generator? It’s very odd.
Any input would be greatly appreciated!
Mattjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 10:37 PM   #2

lookup a neutral bond plug

lots of threads on this

easy to make yourself and might solve your issue

2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS
rsdata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 11:46 PM   #3