RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2011, 05:00 AM   #121
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 349
I have used a setup like this when getting noise in a amateur (ham) radio. I can't tell from the above picture what the current flow is for the diode, but a 4700 micro farad capacititor is a bit large for a DC stereo, IMO. There shouldn't ever be much current draw from a stereo. When I made the "homebrew" filters for a 100 watt transmitting radio I would only use a 1 pico farad betweem DC+ and DC-. By using a 4700 micro, I guess they are planning of a lot of AC on the DC line. Perhaps a shortcut for a electricly noisy power converter? Just a thought.
__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 06:58 AM   #122
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Yup that is a diode not a resistor.
Back to poorly wired up and a short occurred.

There is almost no way that 6 amps went through that diode without a dead short. If you had hooked it up backwards, the diode should have blocked current flow.

However, it has been a LONG time since I played with this stuff in college.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 07:23 AM   #123
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
Bob I m still trying to solve my problem. I sent you pictures and since have found the grey coax from the concertone is also loose and has a similar piece of metal attached. I think it is a splitter that somehow has come apart.So I have the cable behind the plate the tv hooks to and from the concertone both loose and I am sure there is a splitter somewhere that has come apart. any idea where to look. I have taken the tv amplifier plate off and I see a splitter but cannot get to it without cutting a larger hole. could this be the one.If so what other wires are attached to it?Is there a wiring diagram available for all the coax inputs including antenna amplifier.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 08:03 AM   #124
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 30
Now, do I need it?
__________________
Me, Her, Boy(8), Girl(7), Baby Girl(1.5) and Dog
06 Chevy 2500 4x4 crewcab SB Duramax/Allison
08 Flagstaff 831BHSS w/ Reese Dual Cam
"Submarines once, submarines twice..."
dc31bhss is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 12:37 PM   #125
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
I decided to attempt to find my problem and I removed the metal grilldoor for the bass speaker and removed a small stapled panel and the 4 way splitter was visible and 3 of four cables had separated from the splitter and each had a small piece of it attached.I am off to buy a new one and see if that cures my problems. was wondering why I could get no antenna or cable but I could get satellite. Last campground had cable and I ran thru slide gasket to tv. worked great.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 05:19 AM   #126
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 349
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc31bhss View Post
Now, do I need it?
If there isn't any noise (hums, poping, whines, etc) while your listening to the Concertone, then I would say "no", but if you do have noise, you may want to put one back in. Most would probably blame the equipment for the noise, but now that you know you had a filter you have some place to start. You can probably get one at a car stereo store. I would say to check Radio Shack but all they seem to worry about anymore is selling you a cell phone, and the clerk probably wouldn't even know what you were asking for.

Because most of the DC power comes through the power converter (AC to DC) the DC power won't be as "clean" as coming direct from a battery. Even if you were connected straight to you battery, your battery charger/ converter is connected to the battery, noise potential. I could get more technical about "noise" but I can get carried away, so the DW tells me.
__________________
Kirk, KN1B
2013 Cardinal 3800FL
2009 GMC 3500HD CC LB SRW
kbrown1075 is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 08:24 AM   #127
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 30
Thanks everyone for the help. My electrical knowledge has dwindled since my high school car stereo days. We'll see how she goes this weekend. COME ON FRIDAY!!
__________________
Me, Her, Boy(8), Girl(7), Baby Girl(1.5) and Dog
06 Chevy 2500 4x4 crewcab SB Duramax/Allison
08 Flagstaff 831BHSS w/ Reese Dual Cam
"Submarines once, submarines twice..."
dc31bhss is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 09:35 AM   #128
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
Installed a new 4 way splitter and still get no signal. I wired directly from ant amp to converter box and then to tv and I get 11 local stations. So I must have the wrong in connection on the splitter. just got info on here for the amp plate so the antenna out should be the in on the splitter. I will try again.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:19 AM   #129
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
Just traced wires and I have the right input so I am not sure what is going on. am getting a little frustrated trying to contact forest river or concertone for help and of course leave a voicemail which I have for 4 days with no replys except for Bob
Fields he did answer my e mails with questions then nothing. I am sure he is busy.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 09:29 AM   #130
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
well I give up. I get good sound but no picture. I bypass the concertone an install my converter box from amplified antenna to tv and get 11 locals. with the three rca plugs into input 1 and set the concertone to input 1 I get good surround sound. I guess I will just use it for sound. No dvd so I will purchase a dvdplayer.Jonathan from rockwood did return my call and assured me I had the splitter hooked up correctly. I guess the concertone went bad and lost video. even tho it has worked perfectly since I purchased the camper about a year ago.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-19-2011, 04:41 PM   #131
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Hi Bill

Yes, I have been busy - did you try bypassing the splitter and running the video output from the concertone to the tv directly?
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 08-20-2011, 06:19 AM   #132
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
Bob thanks for calling and I will try what you suggested late today I am tied up this morning.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:06 AM   #133
Senior Member
 
onequicksportster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sw Ohio
Posts: 119
Hey Bob, how can I go about getting a remote for a zx500, mine was missing when I bought the camper from the dealer. Also anything I can do to get the cd/dvd to read the cd's? Thanks Bill
__________________
2015 F250 psd CC Sb 4x4
2007 Wildcat 28rks 5'ver
2005 Harley Davidson
2009 Weimaraner "Dog"
onequicksportster is offline  
Old 08-21-2011, 10:49 AM   #134
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Bracey Va, At Lake Gaston
Posts: 180
Bob I tried what we talked about with no success. will head out the first of sept for a week camping trip. will keep you posted.
__________________
Bill And Theresa Perry, At Lake Gaston
2004 R Vision Trail Lite
2003 F 150 Super crew with 5.4 Tow package
bill and theresa is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 07:36 AM   #135
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
Quote:
Originally Posted by onequicksportster View Post
Hey Bob, how can I go about getting a remote for a zx500, mine was missing when I bought the camper from the dealer. Also anything I can do to get the cd/dvd to read the cd's? Thanks Bill
Concertone® ZX500 Remote Control

But I am not sure I would buy one until you figure out if the DVD is good. Try cleaning the system...

My contact info is below.
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 08-22-2011, 08:28 AM   #136
Senior Member
 
onequicksportster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sw Ohio
Posts: 119
Thanks Bob, how do you suggest I clean it? When you put a cd in it you can hear it start to turn, then it stops says somthing about it can't read it? I tried several cds.
__________________
2015 F250 psd CC Sb 4x4
2007 Wildcat 28rks 5'ver
2005 Harley Davidson
2009 Weimaraner "Dog"
onequicksportster is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:06 PM   #137
Owner - RVtronics
 
Bob Fields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 649
Send a message via AIM to Bob Fields Send a message via Skype™ to Bob Fields
CD / DVD Cleaning Disk Removable Media Product Reviews and Prices - Epinions.com
__________________
Bob Fields
bob@rvtronics.com
www.rvtronics.com
(781) 281-9440
Bob Fields is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:27 PM   #138
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,367
I have a Toshiba TV and would like to program the TV remote to control the volume on the ZX700. The ZX700 remote seems very weak with its range. I checked in the TV manual and it doesn't list anything for Concertone. Anyone know the code to program the TV remote?
Len & Cheri is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:33 PM   #139
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Is the disk you are trying to play an original or a home made movie?

Original (commercial) DVDs are written (printed actually) on a different media than DVD-R or DVD+R. DVD+-RWs have a toatlly differnt substrate also. My ZX-700 plays all my DVD-R movies BUT WILL NOT PLAY DVD+R; DVD+-RW and DVD+RDL Dual Layer format disks. Has to do with dye color I am told. I don't really care; I just want my home made disks to play.

If you are trying to play an "original" DVD try a different one. If ORIGINAL DVDs give the "fail to load" error; then you have a bad drive.

If SOME original DVDs play fine; you have a fussy drive (I would try to get it replaced as it could be a weak laser. They do fail).

If ORIGINAL DVDs play fine, but your copies do not play; you might try copying them to a DVD-R and try it again.

Hope this helps,
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline  
Old 08-23-2011, 05:37 PM   #140
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by LFugate View Post
I have a Toshiba TV and would like to program the TV remote to control the volume on the ZX700. The ZX700 remote seems very weak with its range. I checked in the TV manual and it doesn't list anything for Concertone. Anyone know the code to program the TV remote?
If you have a "learning remote" on your TV; just train it.
If not; buy one and teach it the Concertone codes.

I use the Logitec Harmony One and LOVE IT.
I control everything with mine.
In fact, I have two and use the other in the house.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.