Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2014, 04:18 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 47
"Dogboning" to my House

I am trying to step down from my 50amp RV to our 15/20amp home circuit. I have a 50/30 dogbone and a 30/20 dogbone. When I plug this array into the house circuit through an extension cord, it pops the circuit breaker instantly. Am I missing some trick in this process? I will say that a friend brought her RV with a 30amp circuit and had no problem using our house power.
jimsaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,934
I would open all breakers into your trailer panel, then close main breaker and other ones one at a time. You might have too much load when you connect. Make sure water heater is off. Hope it will stay on.
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped:2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019(28)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:42 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsaxman View Post
I am trying to step down from my 50amp RV to our 15/20amp home circuit. I have a 50/30 dogbone and a 30/20 dogbone. When I plug this array into the house circuit through an extension cord, it pops the circuit breaker instantly. Am I missing some trick in this process? I will say that a friend brought her RV with a 30amp circuit and had no problem using our house power.

Jim, a few questions please:
1.Are any of these dogbones home made, or are they store bought?

2. Are you plugging into a 15/20 amp GFCI outlet at your house?

3. What kind of extension cord are you attempting to use....and is it store bought or home made (or has had an end replaced)?

4. Is anything turned on in the RV?

Pics of 1-3 might help too.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 06:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 47
No homemade dogbone nor extension. Yes I am attempting to plug into GFCI outlet (those are what I have externally). I don't think anything was turned on in the RV, but these big devils hold many secrets.
jimsaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 06:16 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsaxman View Post
No homemade dogbone nor extension. Yes I am attempting to plug into GFCI outlet (those are what I have externally). I don't think anything was turned on in the RV, but these big devils hold many secrets.
The gfci is your problem.

TURBS

golf cart safety instructor.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,934
Try to plug inside house to a non gfci receptacle to see if doing same. If house breaker still trip, then look at loading in the trailer.....
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped:2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019(28)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 47
Okay! I'm on it. My only fear is burning down the house and the RV at the same time. I will really need a place to live; but, oh well. Thanks for all your help.
jimsaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rjf7g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 147
I have plugged a 30 A camper in to a 20 A outside outlet at my house using a dogbone without any problem. I just couldn't run the compressor on the camper's AC. It would trip the breaker if the connection got wet. I was able to get the camper close enough to the house that I did not need an extension cord, though.
__________________
***********************************************
2006 Palomino Puma 27FQ Bunkhouse
2007 Gulfstream Innsbruck 36FRS Park Trailer
rjf7g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 07:52 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Im not sure why you guys are calling your household outlets 20 amp because they are not unless they look like the one in the picture I've provided.

Just to be clear.....



TURBS

golf cart safety instructor.
Attached Images
 
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Im not sure why you guys are calling your household outlets 20 amp because they are not unless they look like the one in the picture I've provided.

Just to be clear.....



TURBS

golf cart safety instructor.
Is the voltage 110, 115 or 120 I have seen these three used the most, just to muddy things up...
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: strattanville pa
Posts: 262
Started beer thirty early today, but still have to ask--What is a dogbone?
pacin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:03 PM   #12
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,729
This previous forum thread may help:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ric-42708.html
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Capt. Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Franklin County, MO
Posts: 2,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
Im not sure why you guys are calling your household outlets 20 amp because they are not unless they look like the one in the picture I've provided.

Just to be clear.....



TURBS

golf cart safety instructor.
Golf Cart Safety Instructor AND part-time electrician. Boy, does Bob have some jobs for you at Goshen this summer.
__________________
Mike and Yvonne
and Sophie, the little white dog
2017 Columbus 320RSC
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax 4X4
“It's not how old you are, it's how you are old.”Jules Renard
"It's not the years...it's the mileage." - Indiana Jones
Capt. Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:08 PM   #14
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by pacin View Post
Started beer thirty early today, but still have to ask--What is a dogbone?
They call these type of adapters a dogbone type, cause it resembles a dog's chew bone in shape when laid out end to end.



This type below is what is referred to a straight plug type:

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:39 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Walkertown, NC
Posts: 335
The correct voltage is 120, the other two haven't been used in a very long time.
Sirsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:41 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 47
Okay. 15amp. Now, has anyone had the experience of stepping down from 50A to 20 (15)A with success? I just blew my house outlet plugging into the 50/20 circuit (non gfci). There was nothing on in the RV, battery disconnected, no utilities, nothing. Is it possible that the dogbone 50/30 is bad? I don't like to experiment with my rig.
jimsaxman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:46 PM   #17
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 23,729
It's possible you have a bad dogbone.........and it's also possible you have a bad extension cord (we have seen this before as people miswired them when replacing ends on them).

Have you turned off the main breaker in your trailer, and the individual circuit breakers?

You need to do this anyway, while plugging into your house, to prevent electrical arcing at the outlet.

Do you own a multi-meter?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS


I've reported my DNA missing just in case it's found somewhere bad.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 08:48 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 172
I go from 50 to 30 with a dog bone. I then use the little adapter to plug from 30 to 15 (or a normal house plug). I use a outside type HD (orange) extension cord plugging into a gfi outlet. No issues.

I think your ext cord is bad or the dog bone.
__________________
Looking for a new trailer
2013 Georgetown 329DS - SOLD
2017 Jeep GC Trailhawk tow vehicle
Klamaths Premium "Porter" JH RIP
Raney's Blazin' "Baxter"
All white Siberian Husky "Turbo"
goin2drt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 09:09 PM   #19
Mod free 5er
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 24,705
I just wired an rv 30amp receptacle with 12-3 grounded romex on a 20 amp breaker and plug the regular 30 power cord into it. It has a cover to shield it from rain.
__________________
OldCoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 09:30 PM   #20
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19,906
"Dogboning" to my House

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimsaxman View Post
Okay. 15amp. Now, has anyone had the experience of stepping down from 50A to 20 (15)A with success? I just blew my house outlet plugging into the 50/20 circuit (non gfci). There was nothing on in the RV, battery disconnected, no utilities, nothing. Is it possible that the dogbone 50/30 is bad? I don't like to experiment with my rig.


Yes, I've done this exact setup- 50 to 30 dogbone and then a 30 to 15/20 dogbone to a 50' extension cord and actually *do* plug into a GFCI plug in my garage (though, that part I understand that GFCI park seems to be a bit of luck).

Unfortunately, I don't have the foggiest idea for what to tell you to try and test. What you're trying to do *is* possible, though.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.