Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-29-2013, 04:16 PM   #1

Dometic A/C issues

Ok all I need some help. I am new to the whole forum thing so please excuse me if I do something wrong. I have a Dometic 13500 BTU ducted system in my 2 year old 26 foot camper. Last year the circuit board in the A/C fried on an electrical spike. It was replace as well as the thermostat and everything has worked fine until three weeks ago. Now when i turn the system on the blower comes on and approx. 30 seconds later the compressor turns on. It starts cooling and runs for about 2 minutes with the compressor turning off and the blower continuing to run. the camper does not cool down until late at night. it as if the compressor is not running long enough. When it does cool down the system will turn off and on every three to 5 minutes all night. The next day the issues repeat. I am out of warranty and want to try and repair myself is possible. Has anyone else experienced this issue.
dperrilloux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:51 PM   #2

my first thought is low freon causing short cycle.

before i would get into that, i would try another thermostat.

there is also a temp sensor on the evap coil that could also be the problem. i would eliminate the wall thermostat first.
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 04:54 PM   #3

Agree with the above. I would try a new thermostat first.
Is your fan set to auto on your thermostat?
markb5900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2013, 05:09 PM   #4

The thermostat is a single zone three option digital stat with Fan, cool and furnace options.
Old 09-29-2013, 05:10 PM   #5

On the fan option, does it say AU, or Hi or Lo?
Old 09-29-2013, 05:12 PM   #6
CLASS "A" Senior Member