Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2018, 12:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Dometic AC woes

Has anyone replaced the Dometic Brisk Air 2 AC that was factory installed on an XLR Hyperlite 29hfs with a Coleman Mark 15?
trupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thurman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 1,268
My understand it that if changing out a Dometic for a Coleman or vice-versa there is a problem with the t'stat wiring. I'm thinking (UH-OH) that the Coleman units use a five wire set-up and the Dometic uses a three wire set up. Or it could be the other way around. I believe that either unit will fit the 14" x 14" opening as that is sort of standard within the RV industry, so many items will fit that size opening.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 03:32 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,136
You don't list the year of your RV, but if it's a newer model, Thurman is correct. You may get lucky and be able to pull new T-stat cable in the place of the existing cable if it's a pretty straight run.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 07:03 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
SeaDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Idaho
Posts: 7,407
welcome to the forum its a great place to get your questions answered as you can see.
__________________
Retired Navy
Jake my sidekick (yellow Lab) 10/04 - 05/20
2017 RAM 2500 CC 4X4 Cummins Diesel
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 09:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Thurman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Albany, GA.
Posts: 1,268
I'd like to say this: "BamaRambler" statement "You may get lucky and be able to pull new T-stat cable in the place of the existing cable" could very well turn out to be true. The total lack of quality I have seen while working on different RV's will lead me to say that I doubt that the wiring for the t'stat is stapled anywhere along it's route. I think that it would be very possible to pull in a new t'stat cable using the old cable to pull with.
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dometic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.