Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 11:58 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Dometic Fridge model RM 2652

I have a 2006 Salem 30QBSS with a Dometic model RM2652 refrigerator. Lately it will not work with either gas or electric. When I turn it on with either it seems to work but for some reason it will shut itself off after 10-15 minutes and there is no power to the fridge at all. I have found a reset button that I can reset the power with but then it will only last the same amount of time before shutting down again. I checked main fuse panel on trailer and all fuses and breakers are good and also checked and replaced 3A and 5A fuses outside and still having same issue. Has anyone had this issue before ?
Thanks,
Dan
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:00 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
Were the fuses bad when you checked them?
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:21 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
No the fuses were good, changed them as precaution only.
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 02:41 PM   #4
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,961
What kind of reset button and where is it???
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-35
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:24 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
On the outside panel at the far right by the propane igniter there are 2 red wires that can be removed, the reset button in in between those 2 wires. This reset button seems to keep tripping for some reason.
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:49 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
I wonder if that is a thermofuse. See diagram below. If you think this is what it is, then go to page 18 of this diagnostic manual for that fridge.

Basically, the manual says when the fuse pops it is normally an indication the cooling unit has a problem and the cooling unit will have to be replaced.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:55 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Here are a couple pics of the reset button, do you think that is my problem ? needs new cooling unit?
Attached Images
  
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:42 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
I had the exact same problem and it turned out to be the absorption unit. I had the telltale yellow stain and assume the collant leaked out and without the coolant the temperature gets too high and kicks out the sensor.

Just noticed it looks like you also have the yellow stain...
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 06:50 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
What did it cost to have that replaced ?
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:01 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
RV Ice Box Appliance Parts Cooling Unit Price List

http://www.rvcool.com/

http://www.ehow.com/how_6154417_repl...rigerator.html
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:02 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Cost of absorption unit

Haven't replaced it yet but if you replace it yourself which I plan to do an absorption unit runs from $395 to $595...
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
vasnipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 497
Dead fridge

What is the refrigerator serial number?
Reason I ask is my 2006 Sunseeker fell in the recall serial number sequence.
Check here Official Dometic Recall - DometicUSA and see if your refrigerator is on the list. If it is contact your dealer about the recall and see if they will take care of things.

Chris in Virginia
__________________
2006 Sunseeker 3100SS/LTD
2008 Smart Passion Cabriolet TOAD
1986 Honda Helix (Original owner)

vasnipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:53 PM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,790
The recall had nothing to do with the absorption unit.
It had to do with the chimney and the burner assembly.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:05 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Triguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Southeast Wisconsin
Posts: 6,949
FRSalem,
I recalled an issue with your Dometic fridge and decided to re-familiarize myself with it. Those fridge units and other Dometic models had a recall for fridges built in the late 90's and expanded to the mid 2000's models. The recall was for a fire hazard and the reset is an overtemperature switch and was retrofitted as part of the recall kit. Its purpose it to remove 12VDC from the circuit board thus disabling the refrigerator in the event of an overheat or fire condition. Very dangerous before the recall as I understand.

Because it is the thermofuse that is popping to protect you from a potential fire, I believe your unit has a failed cooling unit and that you should take it in to get repaired. You can try to get Dometic to replace but I really doubt they would do that. Worth a try, though.
__________________
Scott
DW, 3 Kids and our Goldens

2012 Shamrock 233S
2008 Toyota Sequoia 5.7L 4WD
Triguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:05 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
I believe the recall was to install a shield over the chimney and install the Temp sensor in case of fire..In other words they have a defective burner that is prone to cracking and causing a fire but all they were required to do is shut off refrigerator if fire occurs..NOT repair the problem..my burner cracked and leaked out refrigerant just as yours and thousands of others Dometic should be required to at least replace absorption unit for half price or less..but not waiting for that to happen...
Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 10:35 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
I am out of town but will check the recall when I get back tomorrow just in case. Thank you all for the great info.
Dan
FRSalem2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 PM.