Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2021, 10:14 AM   #1

Dometic Refrigerator

Hello, Newbie here, I purchased a new-to-me 2011 wildwood 29bhbs[/SIZE]. It has a DOMETIC fridge. The fridge will only work when on gas. When I put it on "AUTO" and have the trailer plugged in it does not cool. I am familiar with boats and fridges but not travel trailers. My Boat fridge has its own breaker is that the same as on trailer? Is there some troubleshooting tricks I can do to test the fridge?

Note: I don't have it plugged into a 30 AMP I have the converter plug for a regular 15 AMP...Does the fridge actually need the 30 AMP plug outlet?

Sorry if this has been already asked and answered, I did review the forum but cannot find anything. Again although I am familiar with boats I am a newbie to travel trailers so please be gentle if I am missing something simple
PGATOO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:29 AM   #2

There is a heater that is powered by 110 when on electric. You can open the access panel on the outside and see it. Perhaps the 110v plug is out or the breaker is off.

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:38 AM   #3
D W

The fridge does not require a 30 amp connection, but does require a continuous 120V source to operate on electric selected in the auto mode. Are you sure that the fridge is getting 120V where it is plugged in? What model Dometic fridge do you have?
"...exhaust fluid? We don't need no stinkin' exhaust fluid"
D W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 11:06 AM   #4

thanks for the quick reply, i will be going up this weekend. There are two fuses a 5A and a 3A that I will be checking them. Question from a newbie here but I do not know where the breaker would be? any idea on a 2011 wildwood 29bhbs and the fridge is a DOMETIC 2351 (I Think) I don't have the user manual for the trailer.