Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Fridge Gets Too Cold.

I guess it's better than not getting cold enough but on our first trip with our 2004 Wildwood the Fridge got so cold after 2 days that everything in the fridge was frozen. Only running on propane. Fired it up at home on ac power the day before we left then ran it on propane while we drove 2.5 hours to the campground. Also on the 2nd day the check light came on(?) Dometic Americana ...not sure of the unit model # but it has the separate fridge and freezer. Any ideas? Thanks in advance...
__________________

SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:04 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 96
typically there is a small sensing bulb attached to one of the fins on the back of the fridge that needs to be moved down. I also had to move the bulb down inside the clip to get mine to the right temperature
__________________

__________________
'07 Toyota Tundra 5.7L DC 4x2
'16 Surveyor 226RBDS
Nights camped 2016 - 3
Nights camped in 2015 - 20
Ditchooker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:34 AM   #3
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Thanks Ditchooker...I'll check that out. I know that there is wire with the temp sensor at the end laying in the middle rack. Could that be it?
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:53 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Daleville, AL.
Posts: 82
That sounds like the sensor. It should have a clip that attaches to the cooling fins. I would start off by placing it near the center of a fin vertically. Adjust up or down for proper temp.
__________________
2011 F350 Lariat Ultimate Dually 6.7 w/ B&W Companion
2014 Heritage Glen 356QBQ
2016 Explorer Platinum, 1998 Mustang
1SG(Ret) (1987) US Army Aviation

Days/Nights Camped 2016: 34
dogwood36322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
The clip goes on the far right side fin with a sticker next to it for instructions., I just slid mine up to get mine a little cooler.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:36 AM   #6
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Thanks guys for the info. This is a photo of the sensor wire and the what I assume is the clip which should hold the sensor wire up against the cooling fins.(?) ALSO: while I'm at it, what is the "Climate Control" switch inside the freezer door for?

[/URL][/IMG]
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
That seems to have come loose from the fins ....
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:09 AM   #8
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
I guess I should add there is no temp adjustment on this fridge. It is meant to operate at a "Factory Preset Temp".
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
That sensor is the temperature adjustment, I guess you figured that out already. It is supposed to be on the rightmost fin and you slide it up or down that fin to adjust the cooling. At first I also thouggt there was no temperature adjustment as one looks for a regular know, slider etc
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
Mine is a 2013 model and does not have a climate control switch in the freezer, you must have a different model than mine also the plastic piece in your photo appears to be longer than mine. Is there a sticker on the wall (inside) next to the fins that shows 'colder - warmer"? If not my guess would be attach the sensor with the plastic piece on the fin and do your 'climate control switch to attain the results you want again just guessing at this point.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:59 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
The check light usually means when not on shore power electricity and fridge in 'auto' the check light means the flame didn't light on propane. Sometime just turning it off and retrying will correct the flameout situation.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:23 PM   #12
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Thanks for the tips everyone! I'll connect that sensor to the right side cooling fin and go from there.
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 06:29 PM   #13
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Ok...so I clipped the sensor to right most fin. Plugged in the trailer and now the fridge doesn't work unless I turn on the propane. Fridge was working on AC only when I first checked it out for purchase.... Am I doing something wrong?
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:06 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Unrelated coincidence. Check the circuit breaker the fridge is on. Take something portable outside and plug it in to the outlet where the fridge is plugged in and see if that works. I believe there is a fuse for AC power on the circuit board as well.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 12:05 AM   #15
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
Unrelated coincidence. Check the circuit breaker the fridge is on. Take something portable outside and plug it in to the outlet where the fridge is plugged in and see if that works. I believe there is a fuse for AC power on the circuit board as well.
Thanks Barry. I 've checked the breakers and the fuses and all looks good. I plugged a drill into the outlet and it works. Works perfectly on propane.
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:23 PM   #16
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
So I moved the sensor up to the cooling fins. Was out for a night last night and the fridge is still going down to minus 10 celsius. Everything frozen again. What was weird is I shut the fridge on/off button to "off" and the pilot stayed on and continued to cool. Will the fridge continue to run off the battery power? Two new 6 volt batteries and they seem to be going down pretty quick. I had to shut the gas off to get the pilot to go out. I'm stumped.... or maybe stupid!
SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 06:29 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
You shut it off and it kept running? It broke.

Probably needs a new circuit board, but I think you may need a service tech to decide that.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 08:32 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727
I agree with Barry you need to get it checked, to answer your question "Will the fridge continue to run off the battery power?" the answer is yes Battery + Propane will run it but not battery alone without propane. Shore power (or Generator) will run it without propane and/or battery (it always needs 12 volt for the control circuit but if no battery connected the TT converter will provide the 12 volts).
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:08 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Batts-toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ripon, California
Posts: 727


Check out this UTube video looks like your problem is a bad Thermister (the wire you attached). Still yours is new and should go in under warranty.
__________________
Dale & Terri, Lulu & Tiki (our Chihuahua's), New rescue puppy Prince - Pom/Pug mix.
2013 Tundra, Double Cab, 5.7, TRD Off-Road, 4X4, Full Tow Package
2013 Wildwood T26TBSS - Sold
2000 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager M-8357 MH, Ford Trident V10 Gasser, 35 foot.
Batts-toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 08:19 PM   #20
Member
 
SnoGhost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Batts-toy View Post


Check out this UTube video looks like your problem is a bad Thermister (the wire you attached). Still yours is new and should go in under warranty.
That's so weird...I just watched this video about 20 minutes ago and decided i'm getting a manual adjust stat tomorrow... I'll keep you posted if it works.Thanks a Bunch Batts!
__________________

SnoGhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.


×