Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-15-2018, 01:31 AM   #1

Fridge makes countertop hot, is this normal?

Hello, we just purchased a new Viking 16FB travel trailer which comes with a small Dometic 2 way fridge. During our maiden voyage the fridge cooled nicely but I noticed the countertop over the fridge gets hot to the touch. Is this normal and expected, or should I ask the dealer to look at it since I'm still under warranty? I'm new at this RV thing.
Old 08-15-2018, 02:42 AM   #2

I believe some others on this forum have reported noticing the same warmth on their counter tops. Absorption Refrigerators require quite a bit of heat energy to work. Much more energy than compressor driven refrigerators. Most RV Absorption Refrigerators vent heat out the roof of the RV. When installed under the counter top, some heat may rise under the counter near the wall. However, the Absorption section on the back of the refrigerator should be isolated from the interior of the RV, otherwise combustion gases could enter the living space. Some owners have installed small 12V computer fans to push the heat out and improve refrigerator efficiency. However, I would not make any modification like that until out of warranty. Maybe see if the combustion gases and heat from the back of the refrigerator is not isolated from the interior the RV, and if not, seek to have the dealer make it that way. Not that the dealer will. I know propane burns clean and we have CO and propane detectors in our RV’s to keep us safe. But really, they need to be made as safe as possible without cutting corners. Doubtful there is anything wrong with the refrigerator if it is cooling OK.
Splitshaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 05:28 AM   #3
NH Maple Maker