Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2019, 05:20 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
Okay....I think I'm figuring out how to get electrical for my dehumidifier without passing through the inverter. Oh...I am so smart!!!! No, I'm not passing a power cord through the slide. I was staring at the inverter, and looking at the instruction manual that I downloaded onto my cellphone and, ding ding ding...the inverter is plugged into a receptical that is located next to it behind the panel. I pulled that plug and the inverter turned off. This, of course, disabled all of the plugs in the trailer. But, duh, I can plug the dehumifier into the receptical that the inverter was plugged into and it's running!!!! So now I have a running dehumidifier, but my question is.....is there something wrong with the inverter? Or is there something wrong with the breaker in the inverter?
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 05:27 PM   #22
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
Can't answer that, but wondering how you got dehumidifier cord into that compartment from inside trailer.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 05:34 PM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
Easy. The receptical is behind the screwed in panel in the closet under the TV. The dehumidifier cord reaches easily
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 06:06 PM   #24
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
Ahhh, Ok, my setup is different, I think inverter is in front left outside compartment with that outlet you mentioned.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 06:49 PM   #25
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
Yes. That's where they put them in the previous version before mine. Too bad. That would be a hard place to reach. I don't know why Forest River puts the inverter in such hard to access places. AND my dealer never told me it was there... it's like Forest River's little secret.
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 06:53 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 118
Itís like an Easter egg hunt when you start pulling panels for the first time. ďOh thatís where the water filter goes.Ē
RFishstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 06:58 PM   #27
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
Exactly! Only I'm not crawling in there to change the filter, no way. I'm going to buy one of those water filters that attach to the white hose.
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:02 PM   #28
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
I'm lucky, they put water filter in mine easily accessible from right rear outdoor compartment. They hid the inverter probably so some idiot doesn't electrocute themselves.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:03 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamey View Post
Exactly! Only I'm not crawling in there to change the filter, no way. I'm going to buy one of those water filters that attach to the white hose.

That's what I did - because everyone mentioned that those filter housings crack and leak water.
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:07 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
And Pamey, I bought the 'chill chaser' heat strip and installed it in the A/C unit, was 50 bucks from a vendor on Ebay, easy to install, and is not on same circuit as outlets, it is on the A/C circuit, and is equivalent to at least a 1600 watt heater.



Does that AC and the strip draw power at the same time?
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:09 PM   #31
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
No. You turn knob on AC to 'low heat' (they give you a new knob that doesn't have 2 'low fan' settings). The fan comes on low with the heat strip, not the A/C.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:09 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamey View Post
.....is there something wrong with the inverter? Or is there something wrong with the breaker in the inverter?

I am no expert, but, I really think the inverter just gets warm running juice through it for an extended period.
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:11 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
No. You turn knob on AC to 'low heat' (they give you a new knob that doesn't have 2 'low fan' settings). The fan comes on low with the heat strip, not the A/C.

So the AC fan is going with the strip. Trying to comprehend the power draw. You can then possibly run this off the batteries?
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:14 PM   #34
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
Yes, the A/C fan runs with the strip. No, you can't run on batteries for two reasons: The A/C circuit does not run through inverter, and you would sap your batteries in quick order with a 1600W draw down, that doesn't include how many watts the blower is drawing as well.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 07:17 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
Yes, the A/C fan runs with the strip. No, you can't run on batteries for two reasons: The A/C circuit does not run through inverter, and you would sap your batteries in quick order with a 1600W draw down, that doesn't include how many watts the blower is drawing as well.

Oh, I re-read how you mentioned 1600watt equivalent. I misread it before.
Thanks for all the info!
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2019, 10:08 PM   #36
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
That sounds logical, that the inverter gets hot. I'm wondering if a new one would fix the problem, or if I need a new brand of inverter, or an inverter that can handle a bigger load. My next call will be to the manufacturer of the inverter.
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 07:03 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pamey View Post
That sounds logical, that the inverter gets hot. I'm wondering if a new one would fix the problem, or if I need a new brand of inverter, or an inverter that can handle a bigger load. My next call will be to the manufacturer of the inverter.

As to brand, not sure. But, I would say that a higher watt would help. These are 1,000 watt. I thought I saw someone here mention they replaced theirs with 3,000 watt.
__________________
2019 Flagstaff E-Pro 14FK
JS Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 09:27 PM   #38
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Fort Bragg, California
Posts: 16
Probably so. And they get pricey.
Pamey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 08:56 AM   #39
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 1
I blew something using my air fryer, lost all 110 outlets/fridge but still have micro and stove fan/light. Replaced GFCI and main/110 breaker to no avail. Now I see in thread the inverter has a reset switch in the wall. I have solar and inverter is in lower cupboard next to left side of Murphy bed. Should I remove inverter and look behind or attempt to go through back wall of outside left front compartment? Thanks for all the posts, have been pulling my hair out all summer trying to track this down.
Starriderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 08:58 AM   #40
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 7,712
Find the inverter. It is likely in a compartment behind the remote inverter activation switch, behind those little pieces of paneling which are removable with a few screws. There is a breaker on the inverter, mine is on bottom of unit and marked with an arrow. Press it. Problems solved! This has happened to me more than once using high wattage items.
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
Yes, I drink the water!
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.