Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2017, 09:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
HELP! Electrical not working!

We are trying to leave for our maiden voyage and already have problems! I had our new FR Salem 31kqbts stored for a few day and disconnected the batteries so they wouldn't die. Hooked them back up and brought it to the house to load. I connected to my house power and the big stuff won't come on(AC, microwave,fridge) and my battery is already showing almost empty after only 30 minutes!!! What do I do??? Thanks in advance for your help!! -Jeremy Charleston, SC
jerwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:27 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,395
Tell us a little more how you have it connected to your house power.
Is your unit 30 amps or 50 amps?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=19
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:29 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Tell us a little more how you have it connected to your house power.
Is your unit 30 amps or 50 amps?


It's a 30 amp and I have it connected straight to the house.
jerwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:32 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,050
Are you sure you reconnected the batteries correct. If you reversed the cables, even for a sec, you most likely blew what are called the reverse polarity fuse(s) to your converter.

This is a safeguard, to protect the converter in case of ruining it with reversed battery cables.

The converter is what powers the 12 volt DC stuff when connected to shore power, as well as functions as a battery recharger. If the fuses are blown to it, then once the battery depletes, none of the 12 volt stuff is going to work.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Golf ball-sized hail wouldn't be as destructive if golf balls were just made smaller.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:34 AM   #5
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,395
Do you have a 30 amp R/V outlet at your house or are you using an adapter?
Have you checked at the breaker/distribution box (inside the camper) for power with a meter? Do you have power at any of the outlets?
Did you by chance reconnect the battery(ies) incorrectly (even for an instant) when you hooked them back up?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=19
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:35 AM   #6
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,050
You say it is 30 amp and connected to your house. How are you connected. What kind of outlet are you plugged into. Are you using any kind of adapter.

You are not plugged into a 240 volt 30 amp appliance outlet by chance?

With your 12 volt and 120 volt stuff not working, I have a bad feeling what has happened, and what you plugged into.

If you had someone wire a 30 amp outlet for you, did they make it 120 volts or 240 volts. If 240, you just fried your converter, and possibly your television, and microwave.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Golf ball-sized hail wouldn't be as destructive if golf balls were just made smaller.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:35 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerwilson View Post
It's a 30 amp and I have it connected straight to the house.
Connected to a normal house plug (15amps)? That will run the microwave but not the AC. Still, should run any lights and such.
__________________
2017 Wildcat Maxx 262RGX with 4x100w solar panels
EricE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:35 AM   #8
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 5,589
What do you mean "I have it connected straight to the house"?

Do you have a 30amp connector installed at your house?
Has it worked before?
Was it professionally installed by an electrician?
Any breakers tripped at your panel in your Salem?
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD over a 2017 Ford E450
and if we ever need it, can be pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:38 AM   #9
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,395
I'll ask again... do ANY of the outlets work and have you checked for voltage at the breaker/distribution box? Or even where the shore power attaches to the trailer?
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=19
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:41 AM   #10
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,050
Please, immediately check the circuit breaker inside your house that powers the outlet you are connected to with your RV.

See if it's tripped. Also see if it's a single pole or double pole breaker. That will tell us what we need to know...and can troubleshoot from that point towards the RV.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Golf ball-sized hail wouldn't be as destructive if golf balls were just made smaller.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:44 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,179
GET A VOLT METER AND LEARN TO USE IT!
Yes, Im yelling. This is pretty basic stuff. If your plugged into an outside outlet it will be GFCI protected. Find it and see if it is tripped.
donniedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:45 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
Well, I figured it out for now. The two outlets on my front porch for some reason do not have power to them so I moved the cord into the house and it works fine. I shut the AC off so I didn't try to use too much power. Not sure why my two front porch outlets aren't working, they were the other day when I had the RV plugged into it.
jerwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:47 AM   #13
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 18,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerwilson View Post
Well, I figured it out for now. The two outlets on my front porch for some reason do not have power to them so I moved the cord into the house and it works fine. I shut the AC off so I didn't try to use too much power. Not sure why my two front porch outlets aren't working, they were the other day when I had the RV plugged into it.
Your front porch outlets are probably protected by a GFCI outlet. Find that and reset it.
__________________
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115; Booked for 2022 = 41
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:50 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerwilson View Post
Well, I figured it out for now. The two outlets on my front porch for some reason do not have power to them so I moved the cord into the house and it works fine. I shut the AC off so I didn't try to use too much power. Not sure why my two front porch outlets aren't working, they were the other day when I had the RV plugged into it.
They flipped the GFI or breaker because you tried to run the AC, and other high utilization stuff on 15amps. You can't do that.
__________________
2017 Wildcat Maxx 262RGX with 4x100w solar panels
EricE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 09:55 AM   #15
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 15,395
You probably had the AC on that day too. It pulled too many amps and kicked the breaker in your house or tripped the GFCI that protects them. Check at your house breaker box for a tripped breaker. You may have to throw them off and back on as some breakers when they trip don't show it easily. If the outlets are GFCI protected you'll need to reset the outlet that protects the porch outlets.

Also when using a 'house' outlet to power your trailer... most don't play well with plugging them into a GFCI protected outlet because your trailer has a couple of GFCI outlets in it and they can work against each other.

As mentioned... get a multi-meter and learn to use it.
That should have been the first thing you did to check for power long before posting here for help.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel•Goodyear Endurance Tires•2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped: '17=38 '18=49 '19=58 '20=110 '21=116 '22=19
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:04 AM   #16
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerwilson View Post
Well, I figured it out for now. The two outlets on my front porch for some reason do not have power to them so I moved the cord into the house and it works fine. I shut the AC off so I didn't try to use too much power. Not sure why my two front porch outlets aren't working, they were the other day when I had the RV plugged into it.
Glad you got it figured out.

Most likely you overloaded the circuit. As I asked above, go to your houses electrical distribution box and check the circuit breakers for a tripped one that powers the outlets on your porch.

Here are a couple of good articles I usually recommend to newer forum members. You may want to book mark them and read at your leisure:

Basic electric:

Basic RV Electricity - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

RV Electric

Your very important converter:

RV Converters and Amp Draw - RV Information (RV Maintenance)

Suburban water heater (if applicable to your RV):

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...tml#post327988

Refilling propane cylinders (if applicable)

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ng-133760.html

and last but certainly not least..... welcome to the forums. As you see, everyone is eager to help a fellow Rv'er in need.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Golf ball-sized hail wouldn't be as destructive if golf balls were just made smaller.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 10:15 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 20
Thanks everyone! I can't believe I got all these helpful replies in about 15 minutes! You guys rock!!!
jerwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 07:53 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
muddyrode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 628
You may need to get a meter to trouble shoot.
after getting our new unit i hook it up to the power as i have a 50 amp feed on my machine shed for yard use it worked fine at first, i then lost all shore power inside the unit,
upon testing i found that i only had power on one leg inside the unit
so upon troubleshooting this is what i found

Not sure if this was Monday morning or a Friday afternoon build or somebody took the day off so a fill tried to do the job
but this could have ended bad
i,m glad it was bad enough that it failed completely to be able to find
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2017050695152124.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	98.4 KB
ID:	138706  
__________________
2016 SANDPIPER 35ROK
2013 Silverado Duramax 3500HD DRW LB

Stop worrying about the potholes in the road and enjoy the journey
muddyrode is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.