Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2015, 08:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
How do I connect to the antenna?

ok I give up! First time trailer owner, picked up Monday. I can't figure out what kind of connection I need to plug into the antenna on the roof! I know where the booster button is and there is a 'port' there that seems it will accept some sort of plug but I just haven't been able to figure this out. What do I need to connect the antenna to my TV?
__________________

gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:16 PM   #2
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
What type of tv? What type of rv?
__________________

bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
I have a 2016 26DBH Grey Wolf. TV is just a 32" LED I picked up from Best Buy for the trailer so just standard TV.
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Western NY
Posts: 206
Can you upload a picture of the port so we can see what you are trying to connect to?
__________________
2019 Rockwood Roo 235s
2010 GMC Sierra
Me and DH (aka the Bearded Guy) and as many kids and grandkids as are available at any given time.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing. - Edmund Burke
KateE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:27 PM   #5
Done with this
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 698
Should just be a piece of coax cable screwed on the little threaded stub on the "booster" plate. Then screw the other end on the back of the tv...
__________________

I'm a little too truthful, I guess.
Y'all have fun in "Fantasy Land".
4mula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:28 PM   #6
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
Different brands of tv's have different hook-ups. What brand? Toshiba, samsung, visio?
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mula1fan View Post
Should just be a piece of coax cable screwed on the little threaded stub on the "booster" plate. Then screw the other end on the back of the tv...
Does it use the same output as the cable/sat then (I only have one input ont he outside? Push button on for antenna and off it is cable/sat signal?

Here is what I have in my ceiling. The coax output with the little on/off button. But there is this cylindrical shaped opening that has metal around the inside and the back that looks like something should plug into it.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/jhqm5o4rmi..._0084.JPG?dl=0
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
Doesn't like my picture link...lol
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:42 PM   #9
Done with this
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 698
The big hole is for a 12 volt plug, like a lighter plug.
__________________

I'm a little too truthful, I guess.
Y'all have fun in "Fantasy Land".
4mula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by gargoyle999 View Post
Doesn't like my picture link...lol
Upload it to your album, Copy-Paste in a reply box.
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 138
"But there is this cylindrical shaped opening that has metal around the inside and the back that looks like something should plug into it. "

Don't worry about that opening ---- just attach your coax to the coax fitting, turn on the booster (green light on) and then attach your coax to the TV. On your TV select the correct source (Antenna or Air) and then search for available channels.

If you have access to cable at your campground, you'll need another coax to attach to the post at the CG and run to your trailer. Inside at the antenna fitting that your cax is attached to, turn off the booster and then select the correct source on your TV (Cable) and then search for available channels ----------
bruceatlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:46 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mula1fan View Post
The big hole is for a 12 volt plug, like a lighter plug.
Ahhh..like if you had a 12V tv instead of one plugging into an outlet!

Sorry...total travel trailer/antenna newb!

Thank you for all the help, was driving me nuts since yesterday!!
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:47 PM   #13
Done with this
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 698
12 volt plug fits the big hole, cable hooks to the small silver threaded one by the button.

__________________

I'm a little too truthful, I guess.
Y'all have fun in "Fantasy Land".
4mula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:50 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lakeville MN
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4mula1fan View Post
12 volt plug fits the big hole, cable hooks to the small silver threaded one by the button.

That's it! Now I also know what that writing says around that damn opening! Mine is in the ceiling, backwards when I'm trying to read it and black plastic, couldn't make it out. lol
gargoyle999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 09:51 PM   #15
Done with this
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: KY
Posts: 698
LMAO!!
__________________

I'm a little too truthful, I guess.
Y'all have fun in "Fantasy Land".
4mula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:41 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: East Berlin
Posts: 724
The hole is for a 12 volt plug as said by 4mula1fan. It was meant to be used if you have or are going to purchase a tv that can operate off of 12 volt instead of 110. They still make them, have an led one. This will allow you to use the tv when you are dry camping or boon docking.
Rich5117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 10:44 PM   #17
Left Coast
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: vancouver,washington
Posts: 15,649
Send a message via Yahoo to bob caldwell
And an Inverter would let you use the tv you just bought...can be had at Wally World.
bob caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 09:42 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 181
Mine is a 2015, the round saucer antenna on the roof won't pick up a thing for me. I had camping world try it but they are in Nashville Tn and they said it picked up fine for them.

I camp 25miles from nearest station and nothing.

I bought a cheap magnet mount short rubber antenna that had high reviews from amazon and put it on a length of cable from the cable connection on the outside of the trailer and stick the magnet base on the rear rack or the top of the tow vehicle.

Then with the booster button off perform a channel search on the tv. It picks up 4 to 9 channels depending on placement of the little antenna outside.

As info
__________________
2015 Cherokee Limited 274rk 4 sale
2020 Puma 31 FKRK
Simplewon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:19 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Halifax Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 717
cable already connected at antenna and runs to the back of the 12v booster panel......The large hole is for a 15 cig lighter plug to run an accessory...nothin to do with TV......There may be two screw like silver terminals on panel.....One marked TV another satelite......Connect a coax cable from TV to back of TV.....Turn on booster and TV......You may have to program TV to pick up any channels using menue on TV remote.....also change source to antenna NOT cable... Good Luck!!!,,,J
Jim in Halifax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:51 PM   #20
Member
 
rwmurphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 40
I had to change my tv input from cable to air then scan for available channels.
__________________

rwmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


×