Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-27-2013, 09:46 PM   #1
Love My Sunseeker

How many appliances on 30 amp?

I've been RVing in 30 amp RV's since 2004, and I have always believed (learned from experience) that I have to watch the amps.

well, someone in a 30 amp trailer told me that there are actually TWO circuits of 30 amps, and depending on which circuit your appliance is plugged into, you can run up to 60 amps (30 on each circuit).

I have trouble believe that one!

The A/C is the biggest amp user, if I'm running the A/C then my water heater goes on propane.

On the other hand, I can run electric water heater (12.5 amps), one 3 switch space heater on MEDIUM (7.5 amps), one 4 amp space heater, and the frig (3 amps) at the same time, but if I want to use the microwave, I turn off both space heaters (just to make sure.....), and that is how I handle it. On the other hand, if I need to run the 3 switch space heater on HIGH (12.5 amps) then my water heater goes to propane. Picture Green Acres:

(Oliver) LISA! WHERE IS MY BREAKFAST?

(Lisa) "Oli-vah, I can't make your breakfast because I'm ironing your shirt."

Pretty much like that.

I love my Sunseeker, when I'm on a trip I don't wanna go home!!!"

Total days camping each year: AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE!
DXSMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2013, 09:59 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DXSMac View Post
well, someone in a 30 amp trailer told me that there are actually TWO circuits of 30 amps, and depending on which circuit your appliance is plugged into, you can run up to 60 amps (30 on each circuit). I have trouble believe that one!
As well you should. It's nonsense.

They are thinking of 50-amp RVs where there are two 50-amp circuits. Not true of 30-amp.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2013, 02:55 PM   #3
Love My Sunseeker

Thank you Barry, I kind of thought it didn't make sense.