Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-11-2021, 07:44 AM   #1

How to’s

Hello all and happy holidays! I am not sure if this is where I should post this and this is my first time here, but I have an issue I cannot seem to find the answer to anywhere. The FOREST RIVER website and online manual were useless and the dealer where we purchased more so.

My husband and I purchased a 2022 FR Wildwood Heritage Glen travel trailer in October. Besides all the troubles we have had since the beginning, we have questions regarding the entertainment system. It contained a Sansui TV (with analog connections) and a Jensen stereo system. The TV is garbage (tv speaker sound and picture and not a smart tv) with antiquated analog connections to our King connect antennae and we could never convert the speakers down to the Jensen speakers. That said, we decided to purchase and install a Samsung smart tv…here’s the problem:

Since the OLD tv was connected via analog (WAY outdated technology) and the new tv has digital optical, there are no ports to connect the old system to the new tv. I have researched the web and you tube and nothing applies unless we purchase external speakers to connect the tv to with a converter. Can someone help me with this please?

One other thing, there is a cover in back of tv for King connect (dealer said this is how we can add additional wifi extender, satellite and /or cell booster), but when I removed the cover, there were wires there, but no “connections” to add such equipment. It’s hard for me to believe that the FOREST RIVER website owner manuals don’t address either of these issues (electronics portion said “2015 or newer”- can you say, WAY behind the times) AND that given the low prices of smart TVs these days and cost of rvs , they are not doing a better job with installing newer technology entertainment systems.