Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2024, 09:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Inverter question

When I first purchased my 5th wheel I was told to turn in my inverter to run my refrigerator while towing. Once I hooked up to shore I should turn off the inverter and it will run the fridge from the shore line and it has done just that for two years. Recently the fridge stopped working when the inverter is turned off. I have found the reset button and pressed it but no results. Is it necessary for the inverter to be turned on for the fridge to run? Any ideas?
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 09:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Central coast Calif.
Posts: 745
I assume you have a 120 vac residential refer. To run it needs shore power or when not available the inverter will produce the 120 vac from your battery bank.
__________________
Cross-threading works better than blue loctite.
Capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2024, 10:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
In the breaker panel located inside your RV find the breaker that is labeled either fridge or inverter or maybe both. Turn the breaker all the way off and then turn it back on.

It sounds like the breaker has maybe tripped and not allowing shore power to get to your inverter and pass-thru to your fridge.

Also, if that does not work go into the basement to,the backside of the inverter and make sure the inverter is plugged into a receptacle. Most inverters receive the shore power via a receptacle that is supplied from the breaker. Make sure that cord has not become unplugged.
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 12:04 AM   #4
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 34,099
Moved thread from the General Tech and Repair section to the Appliances and Electronics sub-forum since the OP's questions are specific to that sub-forum and not general questions.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 06:45 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capacitor View Post
I assume you have a 120 vac residential refer. To run it needs shore power or when not available the inverter will produce the 120 vac from your battery bank.
Well, yea. That is not my question. Does the in enter need to be on at all times to run shore power?
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 07:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Posts: 3,701
Leaving it on/off depends on how the fridge is wired after the inverter

Plug in shorepower turn off inverter
Does it run?

If no …….. would indicate your fridge is only getting power from inverter/battery
The converter on shore power will supply the power and not stress the battery bank
__________________
Tarpon Springs FL
2022 Salem 24RLXL
Aussieguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 07:08 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 3,886
short answer no!

if shore power is present that should power the refrigerator and the inverter can be off.

however, the devil is in the details. when you are plugged into shore power it should flow all the way to the refrigerator and run the refrigerator. but i can think of several reasons why that may not be happening. there could be several places in that power path where shore power get blocked so that it does not flow to the refrigerator. i do not know which if these potential 'blocks' you may have.

if you have a built in generator there will probably be a transfer switch that is failing to let shore power pass through.
the refrigerator branch circuit breaker may have tripped and needs to be reset.
the inverter may have a pass thru relay that has failed and in not letting shore power pass through it. if the inverter does not have a built in pass thru relay there will be a small external transfer switch that is not letting shore power pass through to the refrigerator.
a wire connection could have come lose in the shore power path to the refrigerator.

one thing you did not mention is whether you have shore power to all the other 120 volt devices when you are plugged in. know this would help determine where the shore power blockage is. also knowing the make and model of the inverter would help as they almost always have indicator lights / status panels that indicated the status of inverted and shore power. not all do but many do.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 03:00 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Tks Chickdoe

What you are describing is what it used to do. I used to be able to plug into shore and the fridge would function when the inverter is off. I don't have an on board generator. But, something has changed. There is a small black button on the backside of my WF5110HP unit that doesn't seem to change anything when pressed but the fridge, now, only runs when the inverter is turned on. I do have a red light on the front. Is this system fused somewhere that I am not seeing? I have also been told that there is two GFCI on this 5th wheel but can only find one. None in the basement, kitchen or anywhere that I can find. IDK if this is tied into why the fridge only runs on the inverter or not.
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 04:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mygodrulz View Post
What you are describing is what it used to do. I used to be able to plug into shore and the fridge would function when the inverter is off. I don't have an on board generator. But, something has changed. There is a small black button on the backside of my WF5110HP unit that doesn't seem to change anything when pressed but the fridge, now, only runs when the inverter is turned on. I do have a red light on the front. Is this system fused somewhere that I am not seeing? I have also been told that there is two GFCI on this 5th wheel but can only find one. None in the basement, kitchen or anywhere that I can find. IDK if this is tied into why the fridge only runs on the inverter or not.
No, it is not fused for AC side. It is on a breaker. The AC comes from the pedestal to your breaker panel inside your rv. Mine is by the stairs up to the bedroom. Open the panel and look for a 20 or 30 amp breaker labeled inverter of fridge or both. The power from shore goes thru this breaker usually to a receptacle located behind your inverter. Throw that breaker all the way off and then all the way back on.

If that doesn’t work then go into your basement and find the receptacle that the inverter is plugged in to. Plug a lamp or something that requires 120 vac and see of it lights. If it does then it seems you may have an inverter issue.
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 04:49 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
Here is a link to the inverter manual…. https://forestriverinc.com/files/Com...s%20Manual.pdf
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 04:55 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
By the way those WFCO inverters are of poor quality. I went thru 2 of them and even had one fail out of the box.

I replaced it with this Progressive Dynamics inverter and am very happy with it.. https://www.etrailer.com/RV_Inverter...cs/PD34FR.html
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 05:11 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Good breakers

All breakers are good and have power on the black wire. Checked with a DVOM.
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 08:14 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mygodrulz View Post
All breakers are good and have power on the black wire. Checked with a DVOM.
Black wire? You mean power cord?

Red LED means inverter fault.. may be time for a new unit.. would not go with WFCO..
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 08:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Space Coast of Florida
Posts: 4,050
Just fyi ..operation of my inverter.. https://youtu.be/pf7NhvBu3U0?si=FsTYM17wniu2_mTM
__________________


2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2024, 11:42 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 3,886
it appears that that model inverter has an internal bypass relay. that means that the incoming ac is wired into the inverter. there is a light on the inverter status panel that glows green when it senses incoming ac power.

what is the status of the incoming ac power at the inverter?
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2024, 12:11 PM   #16
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 19,201
I have the newer version of the OP's inverter but of the older ones I've seen, (and mine) the 120v power should pass through whether the inverter is on or off. Sounds like the pass through function has quit working.
__________________
2022 Cedar Creek 345IK 5th Wheel•Solar & Inverter•2024 Ford F-Series SCREW•7.3L•4x4•Factory Puck•B&W Companion•TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater•Sinemate 3500w Gen.
F&AM Lodge 358 Somerset, PA - JAFFA Shrine - Altoona, PA

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2024, 10:48 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Update

When I first started to diagnose my problems I pulled the shoreline and checked for proper voltage. When I checked it with the DVOM I had proper voltage but this was not under load. Under a load, the voltage dropped significantly on one leg. Turns out I had a faulty breaker on the supply line and the line was corroded and the breaker was melted. This took put my GFCI plug, my electric fireplace, my converter, and the pass through on my inverter. The parts alone got to be pretty costly but I'm on my way to go camping. Thanks guys
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 04:57 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2023
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mygodrulz View Post
When I first started to diagnose my problems I pulled the shoreline and checked for proper voltage. When I checked it with the DVOM I had proper voltage but this was not under load. Under a load, the voltage dropped significantly on one leg. Turns out I had a faulty breaker on the supply line and the line was corroded and the breaker was melted. This took put my GFCI plug, my electric fireplace, my converter, and the pass through on my inverter. The parts alone got to be pretty costly but I'm on my way to go camping. Thanks guys

Thank you for returning here to post the resolution. Are you saying that the faulty breaker damaged the GFCI, fireplace, converter, and inverter, and all of those had to be replaced??
__________________
2023 r-pod RP-192 with Beast Mode
600W rooftop solar, 300Ah LiFePO4 battery bank, 2000W inverter.
Uses an electric coffee maker when boondocking.

"Never underestimate the power of human stupidity."
-Lazarus Long
jlankford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2024, 06:57 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlankford View Post
Thank you for returning here to post the resolution. Are you saying that the faulty breaker damaged the GFCI, fireplace, converter, and inverter, and all of those had to be replaced??
Yes. I finally got all of the damaged parts replaced. The inverter still worked but it was the pass through circuit that had failed. I really over thought this problem bc of not knowing how things worked for sure and the expert at the local RV store giving me misleading information. This unit actually only has one GFCI plug.
Mygodrulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, question

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.