Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2022, 03:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
Microwave

We have a 2020 Flagstaff pop-up camper model #HW27KS
Weíve had the camper out now four (4) times and Iíve never used the microwave and went to use it and it just stopped working. Iíve checked all the fuses and circuit breakers in the electrical panel and everything looks fine. Iím not sure what else to do to get the microwave working again.
Help please!!
QMan 1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:25 PM   #2
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 6,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by QMan 1963 View Post
We have a 2020 Flagstaff pop-up camper model #HW27KS
We’ve had the camper out now four (4) times and I’ve never used the microwave and went to use it and it just stopped working. I’ve checked all the fuses and circuit breakers in the electrical panel and everything looks fine. I’m not sure what else to do to get the microwave working again.
Help please!!

“Went to use it and it just stopped working.” So was it actually working at all?
A microwave uses 120 volts for power. No sense checking fuses.
Are your breakers labeled for your 120 volt appliances and outlets?
Can you find the actual 120 volt outlet for the microwave?
Do you have a digital meter, and know how to use it?
Have you reset the proper breaker just to be sure?
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD carried by a 2017 Ford E450
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Rhumblefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Right in the Middle
Posts: 600
Does the microwave have power AT ALL (light at panel) or dead-as-a-doornail (looks like no power at all)?

IF breakers are sound (Mwave is 120v, not 12v, and therefore driven by inverter or shore power, doesn't use fuses - that's 12v side of things) flip them on and off (just to make sure), AND other 120v appliances/outlets have power (and cord is plugged in, and GCFI isn't tripped - even though MWave is not likely on GCFI), THEN it is likely the *internal* microwave fuse.

This is a fairly common required replacement, pretty easy to do/access, and runs you about $2. Do a quick search for your microwave's part number and "replace fuse" and you should be good.

Hope this helps (and Duck doesn't come in th sh*t all over this advice).
__________________
2022 Rockwood Roo 235S
2017 Audi Q7 3.0 Prestige w/air (yes, it actually tows that)
WeighSafe hitch - no WD or anti-sway
Rhumblefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 7
Microwave

There is no digital display on the microwave at all. I canít figure out how to get it out from the compartment where itís at.
QMan 1963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:49 PM   #5
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 6,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by QMan 1963 View Post
There is no digital display on the microwave at all. I canít figure out how to get it out from the compartment where itís at.
Youíre just looking for the microwave plug, not remove the microwave.
Do you see an access deck plate like in the attached photo?
Look inside every compartment around the entire microwave,top, bottom, and both sides. It unscrews to gain access to the power outlet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BB447A54-1A43-491B-8CD8-4C6B491C7E9A.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	203.4 KB
ID:	271936  
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD carried by a 2017 Ford E450
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:52 PM   #6
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 28,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by QMan 1963 View Post
There is no digital display on the microwave at all. I canít figure out how to get it out from the compartment where itís at.
You are plugged into shore power correct?
Fuses have nothing to do with a 110v AC microwave.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 04:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Arizona
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by QMan 1963 View Post
There is no digital display on the microwave at all. I canít figure out how to get it out from the compartment where itís at.


Is this what it looks like? Those 4 screws, one in each corner, need to be removed and that whole thing will pull out.

You may have a gfci outlet that has tripped or there may be a gfci curcuit breaker in your panel.
__________________

2020 Rockwood 2104S
2019 Ram 2500 Crew 4x4 6.7 cummins
theHookers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 05:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rover Podder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Virginia
Posts: 142
What were you cooking when it went off?
Is it possible that it overheated?
Was there a lot of moisture coming off what was cooking?


Sometimes microwave ovens can overheat and they will reset once that condition passes.
__________________
2020 rPod 180
2017 F-150 XLT SuperCab 2.7 EcoBoost
Rover Podder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 06:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Chuck_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 2,998
Cycle the microwave breaker -- it should be on one all by itself. Just looking at it often won't reveal it's tripped.

Every microwave in the last 20-30 years has some sort of digital display showing the time and/or cooking times. If there's no digital display it probably isn't plugged in or the breaker is tripped or the trailer isn't connected to shore power (which I'm sure you checked). Open the door, does the interior light illuminate? Ultimate problem may be the darn thing just died.

-- Chuck
__________________
2006 Roo 23SS behind a 2017 Ford Expedition
Chuck_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
microwave

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.