Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2016, 02:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
razor15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
Pre-wire back up/observation camera....

Just received the furrion observation/back up camera. Installed it on my 2015 rockwood 2104 (still under warranty) on the bracket already in place.

Nothing. Camera wouldn't sync with monitor and constant pairing failed messages. Used the test jack on the monitor power cord to power the camera, camera/monitor work fine in the cab of my truck.

Took a volt meter and tested jack behind trailer with running lights- nothing, no voltage. With back-up lights, no voltage.

Just had my knee replaced last month and don't know if I should be messing around trying to troubleshoot line faults. I have to tow trailer 2 hours with a $20 toll for a warranty repair. In a prior life and galaxy far far away worked as electrician/electronics technician so I still know a little. Enough to get me into trouble at least.

Maybe I am missing something obvious.

Thoughts and suggestions appreciated. Thanks!!
__________________
US Army (ret)
2015 Rockwood 2104S
2015 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7L
razor15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 02:58 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,575
Pre-wire back up/observation camera....

My camera was installed when I bought the trailer so I didn't have to do the install -- but my power wire is always hot. It's not made hot with running lights or reverse. I can leave my truck in the garage, plug my monitor in the 12v socket in the trailer's bedroom, turn on the monitor and I get a clear picture of what's behind the trailer.

I suspect your power wire is not attached on the battery end since there was nothing on the load end when it left the factory.
HTH

Sent (I think)
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 80; booked = 14
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 03:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mainframe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 563
Check the fuses, maybe it is not even installed since the unit did't have a camera, or maybe it is blown.
__________________
2016 Shamrock 23WS
2018 F150 Ecoboost
Mainframe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 03:11 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 14,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mainframe View Post
Check the fuses, maybe it is not even installed since the unit did't have a camera, or maybe it is blown.
I'm positive my unit is different (seems no two are alike) but I looked and I don't have a fuse in my power center marked for my camera. I assume it's inline near the battery but I didn't check.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 80; booked = 14
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 03:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 1,196
I hope you don't have to take it to Chesaco RV. You'll be 6 months waiting.
I helped my buddy install his. We had to call Forest River to find an inline fuse had blown. We would have never found it otherwise. It was a fifth wheel but it was inside a cabinet behind a panel towards the back of unit. Why could this not be with the other fuses? Ridiculous! Might want to call FR first. Dont settle for one call he used 3 or 4 different numbers before getting someone who knew. I could check with him for number but sure he called the Wildcat factory.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 04:32 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
razor15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
I'll check the fuses tomorrow. If it's an in-line fuse, it could be anywhere. It depends upon the worker who installs the wire mood that day where they put it. They don't document it either.

Its not Chesaco but dealer I bought from can be just as bad. I really, really don't want to take it to dealer for warranty claim for a 12 volt circuit.

I'm physically not ready to be low crawling underneath trailer or running up/down ladder for an extended time. I went up/down today about 10 times installing the camera and trying to get it to sync, knee swelled up double and have been on ice/meds since.

Thanks for the feedback. Fingers crossed, its a just a normal fuse. The fuse for the electric side of my water heater wasn't installed. I caught that at pre-delivery.
__________________
US Army (ret)
2015 Rockwood 2104S
2015 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7L
razor15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 11:58 AM   #7
TGR
Senior Member
 
TGR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 269
My Wildcat 5th wheel came with the factory installed Voyager camera. My camera was always on unless I opened my battery disconnect switch.

The trailerís rear view cameraís power was wired directly to the load side of the battery disconnect switch with an inline fuse holder near the disconnect switch. I installed a 12V switch in series with the camera power and now turn it off when not hauling the trailer.

In other discussion on this site, owners have found the fuse blown or perhaps missing. Youíll have to locate the fuse holder to check it out.

__________________
2015 Wildcat 282 RKX
2011 F350 Lariat, 6.7 L. Diesel, 8 ft., SRW, Reese R20
TGR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:21 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Red face No power to pre wired Furrion observation camera

Have the identical issue with my newly acquired fifth wheel (i.e. Pre wired but no life in connector cable) and 70 miles to the dealer. After speaking to Furrion, the trailer maker and the dealer it is going to take some disassembly of the rear trailer cap to either determine where the line failed or run a new wire to the closest running light. The good news is I don't have to pay a toll between me and Salt Lake City!!
filimurz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 84
Have a Silverback 29re Camera gets voltage from the running lights
denville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:34 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Easiest solution would be to get power from nearest clearance light (should only be a few inches from camera mount). I did this to mine because it was wired to back-up circuit and I wanted to use going down the road. 
Name:   ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1459100072.815975.jpg
Views: 1283
Size:  88.0 KB
Gmar60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 12:39 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 41
Backup camera

I must assume you are referring to the Furrion model. Installed a new unit two weeks ago and everything worked as advertised. Install of camera was easy and jack was spliced into running lights. Your running lights must be on for the camera to work. Camera and monitor immediately linked up. All I had to do was adjust elevation of camera for observation vs. backup. I didn't see any fuses and could not see where the camera power line was spliced into running lights (its inside the body somewhere). From your post I assume that the factory failed to connect camera power line to your running lights. You may need to pull the center running light at tap into the electric there. Good luck and take care of that knee. Been there, done that.
Probwrm19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 01:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
X2 on the knees.
Gmar60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 01:15 PM   #13
Georgia Rally Coordinator
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 17,026
My new camper was also pre wired for the Furrion back up camera. The only problem I ran into was not knowing to turn on the trailer lights to get power. Once I did that the system came right up.. I would think if you pulled the bracket off you should be able to see if you have a clearance light wire hooked to camera. I would think you should be able to splice into the 3 center clearance lights to get power. Later RJD
__________________
2020 Shasta Phoenix SPF 27RKSS
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 39
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 05:29 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
razor15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 16
After further review (and staying off my feet today), I am going to give the camper a cursory review in about a week. If I don't find the in-line fuse or something obvious, will just fish the wire up 1.5 inches and hook-up to the running light right above it.

Thanks for all the input!!!

2 more weeks of rehab then I'm hitting the road, camera operational or not.

Happy safe camping season everybody!
__________________
US Army (ret)
2015 Rockwood 2104S
2015 Dodge Ram 1500 5.7L
razor15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.