RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 12:53 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
RCA. Face plate help

How do I hook up games and a satellite disk to the TV through the face plate?
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:23 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Hello and welcome!
To better serve you it would help to know year make and model of your unit.
Maybe pics of your faceplate.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:21 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Terier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 10,060
to the forums!
__________________
Great choice for "Living within my means" and camping for one...

2011 Salem Cruise Lite 20RBXL & 2011 Toyota Tundra Dbl Cab
Camping History: 45 Trips / 133 Nights / 3736 Miles
FRF Social Group: Campers of the West
Terier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
I have a Sabre 32 QBTS 2012 and would like to how this face plate interfaces with the TV. I want to connect a outside satellite to it, there is a connection on the back of the camper for a sett elite dish. I have picture of faceplate.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1842495459.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	47.3 KB
ID:	20614

Mark
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:45 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1087173251.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	20615
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:54 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,845
These inputs are for video and L/R audio INTO your sound system.

If you want to hook up your receiver you will need to connect the Coax from your unit to THIS wall plate's upper connector and then (hopefully) run a yellow/red/white AV cable from the back of your SAT receiver to either the TV or the sound system through that plate.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sandpiper Cable connections Bedroom.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	20616  
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:39 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
So I should be able to hook my satellite receiver to the upper plate label satellite , then plug the three uv plugs into the faceplate and put the switch on satellite .Put the TV on video and the satellite menu should show up on the TV. Then get a fix signal on the outside dish.
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:42 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mftripp
So I should be able to hook my satellite receiver to the upper plate label satellite , then plug the three uv plugs into the faceplate and put the switch on satellite .Put the TV on video and the satellite menu should show up on the TV. Then get a fix signal on the outside dish.
If you hook the coax from that faceplate to your receiver in
Then hook another coax to your tv in that's all you'll need.
Unless you skip the coax from receiver to the tv and run rca's from receiver to tv rca's in.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:53 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo

If you hook the coax from that faceplate to your receiver in
Then hook another coax to your tv in that's all you'll need.
Unless you skip the coax from receiver to the tv and run rca's from receiver to tv rca's in.
So you don't think it will work through the faceplate marked (game,satellite ) to the TV?
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Here's what I did since there's no room above below or sideways to put my receiver inside near the entertainment center I've installed mine in the basement of my 5er.
So here's how it works.
Cable from dish goes to sat in connection on the outside of the 5er.
On the inside the coax runs to my receiver to the sat in.
Then the oe through the camper coax is hooked to sat out.
That cable is hooked to the faceplate that herk shows from the factory.
Then I simply hook a coax from the faceplate to my tv.

Now this only works if you have a uhf receiver.

Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 09:57 PM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mftripp

So you don't think it will work through the faceplate marked (game,satellite ) to the TV?
It would most likely work but why make the extra connections when you can go from sat receiver right to your tv instead of going through gaming panel as well
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,990
If you go through the gaming panel you will be able to use the factory installed stereo for the sound system. If you attach to the tv by coax cable you will be using the speakers that are on the tv. We have our Sat. plug into the middle of the stereo faceplate and our x box into game ports. You then just change the slide switch to which ever one you want to use. If you have a concertone system you will have to change your input from one to two.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:13 PM   #13
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper
If you go through the gaming panel you will be able to use the factory installed stereo for the sound system. If you attach to the tv by coax cable you will be using the speakers that are on the tv. We have our Sat. plug into the middle of the stereo faceplate and our x box into game ports. You then just change the slide switch to which ever one you want to use. If you have a concertone system you will have to change your input from one to two.
They way mine is hooked up as I've suggested goes through surround sound without going through gaming panel .
Stereo just needs to be on A/V mode no biggie.
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:44 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
caper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,990
When I hooked up to tv I only had sound from tv. Did not know about the A/V setting. That is what is so good about this site. You are always leaning something new.
__________________
Terry and Janet
2008 3001W Windjammer
2007 Ford F150
caper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 07:55 AM   #15
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by caper
When I hooked up to tv I only had sound from tv. Did not know about the A/V setting. That is what is so good about this site. You are always leaning something new.
Does your tv not have an A/V cable from the tv to the entertainment center?

I'll take some pics tonight so as to get a better idea .


Turbs
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 08:15 AM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mftripp View Post
So I should be able to hook my satellite receiver to the upper plate label satellite , then plug the three uv plugs into the faceplate and put the switch on satellite .Put the TV on video and the satellite menu should show up on the TV. Then get a fix signal on the outside dish.
If you use the upper coax (AUX/SAT) and the correct outside SAT input coax (SAT) not cable. The dish signal will come right in.

The amp button does not matter since the SAT outside to AUX/SAT inside is a straight run and does not go through the wall amp (like the antenna and cable do).

Once you have signal to your sat receiver, then the AV plugs will get the signals you will watch to the wall plate. Set the wall plate switch to the sockets you used and set the radio input to the one that gives you the picture.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CBL and SAT inputs.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	20754  
Attached Images
 
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:45 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Mftripp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
I plug my satellite dis into my TV by the RCA connector and then with the coax both worked . The surround sound worked both ways. So my question is what good is the faceplate (cable/satellite ) connection. I tried to plug the RCA pugs into the (cable/satellite ) plugs but could never get it to work.I moved the switches up and down but no results. Do I have to set the sound system on a certain setting to get. It to work?
Mftripp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:56 PM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mftripp
I plug my satellite dis into my TV by the RCA connector and then with the coax both worked . The surround sound worked both ways. So my question is what good is the faceplate (cable/satellite ) connection. I tried to plug the RCA pugs into the (cable/satellite ) plugs but could never get it to work.I moved the switches up and down but no results. Do I have to set the sound system on a certain setting to get. It to work?
Yes A/V or aux setting on sound system
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.