Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2015, 03:55 PM   #41
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 3,008
TRY, this link. I have done this procedure myself and it works.

New Dometic refrigerator problem - Page 2 - iRV2 Forums
__________________

grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 06:04 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Thank you everyone! We will be addressing the repair this weekend. Thanks for all the support.
__________________

Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 07:17 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
Im rolling with the humidity switch too. but please check back and let us know. when you do check back, it gives us feedback to do a better job with the next problem we face. this forum becomes a two way street, where we help one another mutually. it gives us closure and we sleep better at night. it gives us a response for the wife when they complain about all the time were wasting...lol
Boy ain't this the truth. I catch heck all the time!
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 07:15 PM   #44
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Weekend results:
Battery tested a little low when fully charged but the tech did not feel it need to be replaced. But we did..we switched the 12V to 2-6V. Checked the refrigerator and there does not appear to be an humidity control. We have a DM 2862. This week while at NASCAR we will see if the two 6V's can get us through the night. I hope so!!
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 07:52 PM   #45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pincher Creek, AB
Posts: 373
Bogey - Are you running your fridge on Battery or Propane? I know that our fridge would kill our batteries overnight if we lost propane and it switched to battery... We got so that was one of the first things we did in our old TT was switch it from Battery to Gas and make sure it lit... Usually we lit a burner on the stove first to make sure the air was out of the system first..
__________________
Camped: 2020 (Days/Nights) - 25/21
2019 (D/N):27/20, 2018(D/N):24/17, 2017 (D/N):30/25, 2016 (D/N):32/23

TT: 2013 26' Revere TBQB
TV: 2020 GMC 2500HD 4x4
glen1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:11 PM   #46
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Propane...
We always do the same thing... Light the stove to get the gas moving👍
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 08:12 PM   #47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: crete,il /texas
Posts: 497
i had thesame problem with the battery going dead overnite, i tried finding out what amp draw the frig has , to no availe, ambiet temp is a factor too, i didnt pursue it as most of the time im on shore power or towing,
Big Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:00 PM   #48
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogey3025 View Post
Weekend results:
Battery tested a little low when fully charged but the tech did not feel it need to be replaced. But we did..we switched the 12V to 2-6V. Checked the refrigerator and there does not appear to be an humidity control. We have a DM 2862. This week while at NASCAR we will see if the two 6V's can get us through the night. I hope so!!
i looked at what greyfox had to say...and checked that forum thread. then i went to the laurelhurst site to look at the schematic for myself and grey fox is dead ON...the heat strip picks up power before the interior light switch and grounds after the bulb. Its on all the time...BINGO!
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:09 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
We don't have a 2852, that switch is not available on our unit. And yes, that means it's on all the time..
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:28 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 845
I'm sorry....they have had manual switches on those for decades and then dometic decides its not important? thats a fair sized parasitic drain to a dry camper...I'm just in shock a little...
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 09:20 AM   #51
Senior Member
 
Bogey3025's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 125
Update: two 6V batteries have provided the solution. Battery reads full the next morning...thanks for the tips.🏁😊
Bogey3025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 10:18 AM   #52
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: South West PA
Posts: 3,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crockett View Post
I'm sorry....they have had manual switches on those for decades and then dometic decides its not important? thats a fair sized parasitic drain to a dry camper...I'm just in shock a little...
Do the Mod in the light. Just cut the wire in the pics. place male and female ends on the cut wire. Just keep the wire disconnected when running on the battery only.... I t absolutely works... no drain
grayfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 03:56 PM   #53
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,498
Good to hear you got it!
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 09:21 PM   #54
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 978
Thanks for the update
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2015, 11:06 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by grayfox View Post
TRY, this link. I have done this procedure myself and it works.
New Dometic refrigerator problem - Page 2 - iRV2 Forums
Has anyone considered drilling the lower half of the light fixture, below the door switch, and installing an SPST switch? It seems to me that a special switch may be called for to avoid moisture-related shorts. But if there's room, that makes turning it on and off easy.
__________________
- 2016 Ford F-150 SCrew Lariat 4x2 3.5L Ecoboost, 1700# payload
- 2020 Rockwood 2507S
chriscowles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 02:53 PM   #56
Senior Member
 
Crockett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 845
they got a push button replacement switch for the outside assist handle that is moisture resistant...maybe thats a good choice for a retrofit internally in the cabinet.

edit...no way to tell position of switch though
Crockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2015, 04:26 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
gooiebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 163
I pulled the light box off and found a connector that goes to the humidity control. I dremeled out the bottom of the light base and cover and the connector hangs under the light so it can be disconnected when needed. Light still works with the connecter apart. Hardest part is getting the box off. The plastic rivets can be reused.
Bob
__________________
2019 Della Terra 29k2s
2014 Toyota Tundra 5.7
gooiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 11:01 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
MNtraveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,001
Refrigerator draws the battery down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whiteknight View Post
If you have a Dometic refrigerator you might want to check if you have this Climate Control Switch and if it is on.

Our Dometic manual (dated 3/14) says this is on model NDM1062 only. And it now carries its own indicator lamp labeled CLC. These aspects might have been different in other years. Glad to know and check, though!
__________________
2016 FR Forester 2401R
Towing 2014 Honda CR-V
MNtraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2015, 11:08 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
MNtraveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2,001
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1446350890.003904.jpg
Views:	566
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	93421
__________________
2016 FR Forester 2401R
Towing 2014 Honda CR-V
MNtraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 05:12 PM   #60
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 8
I've been reading this thread and apologize in advance if I missed something.

I bought a new Forest River Cruise Lite-20' a little over a month ago. First camped in it a week later (with full hookups) and the fridge froze everything in it. My dealer is over 2 hrs away so in phone communications, we're fairly certain that it's a bad thermister. I've since gone 'dry camping' (i did run a generator every morning to make coffee & recharge btry)with the trailer once, and have turned the fridge OFF at night to prevent the freezing (seems that about 8 hrs at night helps the freezing issue). Anyhow parked the trailer with nothing turned on inside about 2 weeks ago and the battery tested a whole 1.56 volts when I just checked on the trailer. Quite a parasitic drain!!!

Any thoughts on if I'm going to have that problem persist even after the thermister is replaced? OR should I go looking for that wire to cut? I don't want to invalidate my warranty
__________________

CeeWoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


×