Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2021, 12:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Running ac on 110volts

Just a thought regarding running ac. What about starting generator to start the Ac then go to shore power 110 volts then turn off generator to run AC? Is that possible or not possible? I relies is proper to run AC on 30amp.
K Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 12:47 PM   #2
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,339
Without knowing for sureÖÖ.Iím going to say you canít go from the generator to shore power without a loss of power while the transfer takes place, and therefore the air conditioner, and anything else A.C. powered, would shut down.

Iíll bow to the experts.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD
and if we ever need it, can be pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 12:48 PM   #3
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,300
I have no idea what you are trying to accomplish but even if you can switch from gen to shore without disrupting the air. The air will still cycle in normal operation so starting on shore power.

What are you trying to do?

What do you have for shore power? What are the issues with it? If you have a choice you are almost always better off with shore power then a generator.
__________________
TT 2021 Grand Design 2800BH
Prior TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite - SOLD 5/21
TV 2017 F150 6.5' bed 3.5 Eco-boost
prior TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 12:55 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by K Forbes View Post
Just a thought regarding running ac. What about starting generator to start the Ac then go to shore power 110 volts then turn off generator to run AC? Is that possible or not possible? I relies is proper to run AC on 30amp.
Can you describe why you are trying to do this?
Might help understand what you want to accomplish.
__________________
Tow vehicle 2021 F-250
TT Apex 256BHS
Tabasco_Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 01:19 PM   #5
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 21,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by llr View Post
I have no idea what you are trying to accomplish but even if you can switch from gen to shore without disrupting the air. The air will still cycle in normal operation so starting on shore power.

What are you trying to do?

What do you have for shore power? What are the issues with it? If you have a choice you are almost always better off with shore power then a generator.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tabasco_Joe View Post
Can you describe why you are trying to do this?
Might help understand what you want to accomplish.
My guess is they're trying to plug into a 15amp household outlet and the in-rush of current for starting the compressor is tripping the breaker in the house.

OP's idea is to start-up the compressor on generator power and then let the A/C run using 15amp power from their house.

--

All that said, I know the automatic transfer switch can transfer hot loads like that. But I feel it's rough on them and prefer to shut things down before switching from one power source to another.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 02:03 PM   #6
llr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
All that said, I know the automatic transfer switch can transfer hot loads like that. But I feel it's rough on them and prefer to shut things down before switching from one power source to another.
Also that won't address the cycling, it would only handle the initial start
__________________
TT 2021 Grand Design 2800BH
Prior TT 2017 Flagstaff 831CLBSS Classic Ultra lite - SOLD 5/21
TV 2017 F150 6.5' bed 3.5 Eco-boost
prior TV 2014 Silverado 2500 HD
llr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 02:15 PM   #7
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 21,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by llr View Post
Also that won't address the cycling, it would only handle the initial start
I wondered about that as I wrote it but didn't want to speak out of turn.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 09:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Addison, Texas
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
My guess is they're trying to plug into a 15amp household outlet and the in-rush of current for starting the compressor is tripping the breaker in the house.

OP's idea is to start-up the compressor on generator power and then let the A/C run using 15amp power from their house.

--

All that said, I know the automatic transfer switch can transfer hot loads like that. But I feel it's rough on them and prefer to shut things down before switching from one power source to another.
If this is the case, the best solution, IMHO, would be to install a soft start and ensure minimal voltage drop by using an adequate extension cord.

Cheers!
CivEngPE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 09:21 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by ependydad View Post
My guess is they're trying to plug into a 15amp household outlet and the in- that said, I know the automatic transfer switch can transfer hot loads like that. But I feel it's rough on them and prefer to shut things down before switching from one power source to another.
The ATS must interrupt the AC power supply completely, even if only for a fraction of a second. This is to avoid connecting mismatched phases of AC which could cause an electrical explosion.

The only way to truly transfer AC electrical loads while hot is to monitor the phase rotations of both AC power sources and adjust one until it matches the other one, then the AC power sources could be combined. That's how inverter generator parallel connections work - one generator is the master and sets the phase rotation frequency and the parallel circuit adjusts the frequency of the second generator acting as slave until it matches the master and then combines the two.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 09:52 AM   #10
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Brighton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,339
The OP hasnít been back since originally posting.
Maybe itís not that important after all.

Stand down and relax.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD
and if we ever need it, can be pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 09:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenandterry View Post
The OP hasnít been back since originally posting.
Maybe itís not that important after all.

Stand down and relax.
You know people other then the OP can benefit from informational discussions. I can't count how many times I've read or seen something that did not apply to me then, but years later I found myself needing that useful information.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:23 AM   #12
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 226
At 15 or even 20 amps not much can be used, the refer will take about 8 amps, and the a/c unit can use anywhere from 10-20 amps. So on a 15 amp power supply its already at the load threshold. Here is a little chart with wattage and amperages that might prove useful. I know Berkshires utilize the residential refrigerators, and that particular coach is happy using 50 amp, but can power some appliances while connected to 30A
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Appliance wattage ratings .jpg
Views:	34
Size:	79.6 KB
ID:	263340  
Lincman983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:32 AM   #13
Always Learning
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Four Corners, FL
Posts: 21,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by CivEngPE View Post
If this is the case, the best solution, IMHO, would be to install a soft start and ensure minimal voltage drop by using an adequate extension cord.

Cheers!
Actually, I think the best option would be to install a 30 or 50amp outlet.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | Was a Fulltime Family for 5 years, now we're settlin' down for a spell
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:32 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Kcoulter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 192
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenandterry View Post
The OP hasnít been back since originally posting.
Maybe itís not that important after all.

Stand down and relax.
Oh my...they have been off line for almost 24 hours. Call in the FBI...
__________________
2020 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BRDS
2021 Ford F-350 XLT 6.7L Power Stroke
Kcoulter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 10:38 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1,859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kcoulter View Post
Oh my...they have been off line for almost 24 hours. Call in the FBI...
No need to call the FBI, they are likely already monitoring anyway!

We do hope you found your answer here, though.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 03:18 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
DouglasReid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Maurice, LA
Posts: 3,800
Quote:
Originally Posted by K Forbes View Post
Just a thought regarding running ac. What about starting generator to start the Ac then go to shore power 110 volts then turn off generator to run AC? Is that possible or not possible? I relies is proper to run AC on 30amp.

Im just curious as to why you would want to do that
__________________
2012 Wildcat Sterling 32RL, Gladiator Qr35 ST235/85R16 Load rating G, TST 507 TPMS w/ Flow-thru Sensors & Repeater, Reese Sidewinder 16K Pin Box, PI EMS HW50C
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500HD CCSB LTZ Diesel, Fumoto Oil Drain Valve, Turbo Brake activated, 39 gal Aux Tank W/ Fuel Pump transfer, Air Lift Loadlifter 5000 air bags.
DouglasReid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2021, 01:31 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 117
[QUOTE=CivEngPE;2638656]If this is the case, the best solution, IMHO, would be to install a soft start and ensure minimal voltage drop by using an adequate extension cord.

If the intent of the OP is to stop a breaker from tripping, I agree fully with installing a soft start for more reasons than just that one.

It's also possible that the OP isn't using a dedicated breaker/outlet, such that other household electrical loads are sharing that breaker and even adding a soft start might not be a solution. If using a shared circuit, find one that has almost no other loads and try plugging into that one, with as heavy gage an extension cord as you can obtain.
__________________
2015 Wildcat Maxx 28' pushing a 2020 F350 6.7L
GFD47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
110v

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 AM.