Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 11:13 PM   #1
Member
 
5thwheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 2 miles from Shelby Forest State Park.
Posts: 77
Satellite Hookups

When I bought my Flagstaff 5th wheel I was told to be able to watch satellite television from 3 of the jacks all I had to do was plug in the satellite dish to the sat jack on the side of the trailer.
We did that and sat would only work on the main TV in the livingroom. I turned on the television in the bedroom and got nothing.
I hooked up the television to the jack in the cargo hold, along with the sat receiver. The sat cable was still hooked to the jack on the side of the trailer. Nothing. I then unhooked the cable from the side of the trailer and went directly to the sat receiver. It worked fine that way.
Apparently the trailer is only wired for satellite to the TV in the livingroom. Has this happened to any other campers?
Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
5thwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 11:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thwheel View Post
When I bought my Flagstaff 5th wheel I was told to be able to watch satellite television from 3 of the jacks all I had to do was plug in the satellite dish to the sat jack on the side of the trailer.
We did that and sat would only work on the main TV in the livingroom. I turned on the television in the bedroom and got nothing.
I hooked up the television to the jack in the cargo hold, along with the sat receiver. The sat cable was still hooked to the jack on the side of the trailer. Nothing. I then unhooked the cable from the side of the trailer and went directly to the sat receiver. It worked fine that way.
Apparently the trailer is only wired for satellite to the TV in the livingroom. Has this happened to any other campers?
Thanks for your help.
The dealer/salesman lied to you. You have the handcuffs.......
You figured how it work on your own. Now what?
__________________

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 10:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
I'll agree with Iggy that, at the least, what they told you was way over-simplified at best.

What Sat provider are you using, and what kind of outside dish setup do you have? There may be some hope yet.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 11:59 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thwheel View Post
When I bought my Flagstaff 5th wheel I was told to be able to watch satellite television from 3 of the jacks all I had to do was plug in the satellite dish to the sat jack on the side of the trailer.
We did that and sat would only work on the main TV in the livingroom. I turned on the television in the bedroom and got nothing.
I hooked up the television to the jack in the cargo hold, along with the sat receiver. The sat cable was still hooked to the jack on the side of the trailer. Nothing. I then unhooked the cable from the side of the trailer and went directly to the sat receiver. It worked fine that way.
Apparently the trailer is only wired for satellite to the TV in the livingroom. Has this happened to any other campers?
Thanks for your help.
We took delivery of our Class C FR Solera on August 9 and are still trying to figure out how to get ANY satellite TV without running the coax in through the window. We have been bounced from the salesperson to the service dept. to management and now back to the salesperson. Can't get ANYONE at FR that knows anything about this issue to return a call! The last word was that the unit wasn't "wired" for satellite TV!? Since we specifically asked if the unit was satellite TV ready BEFORE we purchased we are very unhappy!
sunfish2drivers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunfish2drivers View Post
We took delivery of our Class C FR Solera on August 9 and are still trying to figure out how to get ANY satellite TV without running the coax in through the window. We have been bounced from the salesperson to the service dept. to management and now back to the salesperson. Can't get ANYONE at FR that knows anything about this issue to return a call! The last word was that the unit wasn't "wired" for satellite TV!? Since we specifically asked if the unit was satellite TV ready BEFORE we purchased we are very unhappy!
So on the outside of your RV you have only one coax input (labelled "Cable" I presume)?

What Sat provider do you use?

Do you have one of these (picture below) to turn on your rooftop antenna booster, or do you have a "switch-box"?

Name:   image-3720840633.jpg
Views: 697
Size:  26.8 KB

How many TVs in your Solera?
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 12:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,643
Send a message via AIM to B and B
I removed the Cable TV input on the switch for the Antenna/Cable. In my Rockwood there are 2 coax's to the bedroom. I connected the Satellite Cable to the Cable TV cable with a F 81 coax connector, two females. Then i use the 2 outputs from the Carryout to connect to the side of the 5 er. I get full SD service in both living room and bedroom.

Brian
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 03:08 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
kc8lvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Naples, Florida
Posts: 319
Mine is satellite ready on the roof for a dish which is where I think the extra satellite wires go.
I use a carry out dish and hookup 1 receiver to the living room dish then backfeed the rest through my tv/cable hookup. I just need to turn off my booster for it.
__________________
2004 Dodge Ram 2500HD Cummins
2017 Keystone Montana 3820 FK
2009 Harley Davidson Ultra Glide
kc8lvy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: L\Anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 237
It appears that I am only one of many! I just purchased a Prime Time Sanibel 3501. In what they call the "docking bay" there are three male coax connectors (in a triangular pattern) with a label under the three saying "Cable/Satellite".

IN the bed room, there was an unused male coax connector that I kinda assumed was the satellite connection ( cable is usually tied in with the Winegard batwing antenna - turn the power to the antenna on and you get tv, turn it off you get cable). Hooking up my Directv receiver and after moving the cable from my portable antenna (duel LNB) between the male connectors in the docking station, got DirectV on the bedroom TV
kayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: L\Anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 237
Let me continue: I thought I was home free but when I tried to do the same thing with the living room tv, nothing works. I cannot figure out which of the remaining two male connections are cable connections for the front TV
kayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayo View Post
Let me continue: I thought I was home free but when I tried to do the same thing with the living room tv, nothing works. I cannot figure out which of the remaining two male connections are cable connections for the front TV
I think you mean which of the two are SAT connections (not "cable"). I suggest removing the connectors where you can look at the wire colors. Hopefully there are three different colors that you can just match up with those inside. It sounds like you may have a bad fitting or cable.
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 03:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Python15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 50
Can anyone tell me about sound system in new Columbus 340 rk sound system dvd?cd?Surround sound?
Python15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
iceblaze580's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Here and there
Posts: 803
The surround sound system in the 340rk should be the same as in my 325 it's a samsung DVD/cd system
iceblaze580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 05:21 PM   #13
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 21,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Python15 View Post
Can anyone tell me about sound system in new Columbus 340 rk sound system dvd?cd?Surround sound?
Python, just a suggestion.
it's a better idea to start your own thread when it differs from the thread you're piggybacking on. it distracts from the OP's original issue.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 09:23 PM   #14
Member
 
Python15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 50
Can you tell me what model Samsung and do you have surround?
Python15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
iceblaze580's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Here and there
Posts: 803
I do not know the model number but it is surround sound
__________________

iceblaze580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


×