Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2018, 11:44 AM   #1

'05 v8 4Runner + Surveyor

Hey all, so I am in the market for a TT and was really hoping to use my existing '05 v8 4Runner as the TV. I am a consultant and work from my home office 90% of the time so my plan was to basically just uproot my office and make it mobile. I've also got a 1 year old pitbull so unfortunately I can't fly with him due to airline regulations against pitbulls. Driving would be the next best option in my mind so here we are.

Right now the Surveyor 226RBDS is the leading Forest River model with a Rockwood Mini-Lite 2511S behind that (and a Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE slightly ahead of the Rockwood).

I was hoping to stick with a dual axle TT vs single axle which is how I ended up choosing these models (with an appropriate interior layout that would work for me). I've driven my share of large trucks and trailers and plan on practicing a ton before any real driving. However the plan is ultimately to be driving the country (I live in Las Vegas) with visiting family and friends in both Philadelphia and Florida high on the list.

The Surveyor lists as 5028lb UVW with my 4Runner having a limit of 7000lb which I obviously have no desire to get close to. With a couple hundred pounds of my personal crap loaded into the trailer I suspect I would have a weight of around 5600-5700lb or so. Does anyone have any real world experience with this setup?

So yea, I guess I figured for now I was hoping to start a conversation on this. Please keep in mind that I am not interested in replacing my TV at this time. Maybe in a few years but right now its not really an option.
smokey7722 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 11:58 AM   #2

Here's the SUPER basic thing on weights:

1) Be positive that your 4Runner has the 7,300# tow capacity, and not the 5,000# capacity.