Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2014, 06:44 PM   #1

5th wheel clearance

I'm new to a 5th wheel (finishing up my 1st season), I' ve had bumper pulls prior. I've read 6-8" of clearance is right for the bed of the truck. My new truck is factory high and I've set it to 6" clearance due to the fact that it is still nose high(29" front,23" rear) my axles are already on the bottom and my dealer said it would be worse for the stabilization to raise it any higher. This weekend, I was going down a forest road and hit one side of the bed.(miniscule damage thankfully) I know now that 6" is not enough clearance for the types of roads I like to travel. So what is a good height? anyone out there drive these type of roads with a similar set up? Any advice is welcome and appreciated.
2003 Four Winns 245 Sundowner
mikier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2014, 05:15 PM   #2