Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2019, 06:55 PM   #1

5th Wheel Mounting, Factory or Aftermarket Prep

All,

My wife and I have been camping for 10+ years now (1/2 ton with bumper pull), and getting ready to trade up to a 5th wheel. That means a new truck as well. We've already decided on a Forest River Sandpiper, hence why I am posting here.

In looking for trucks, I have been surprised at how few come prepped for a 5th wheel hitch installation from the factory. What are the pros/cons of having it done from the factory, vs. doing it afterwards?

What my research has lead me to believe is that, in general, the factory jobs cost less, and are typically welded to the frame, vs bolted. Most hitches I have researched have various options for mounting to the factory prep system, so I have lots of options there.

(I want an underbed mount so my bed is free and clear when hitch removed, if that matters).

(I also have not decided on what hitch to buy yet, still researching that as well).

However, and my real question/concern - if I buy a truck without the factory prep, and decide to install, for example, a B&W hitch. I can buy the underbed system for that, and take it somewhere to have them do the drilling and installation. If I do that, is that mounting going to limit me to only B&W hitches (or even a subset of B&W hitches)? Or would I be able to, a couple years down the road, swap to a different hitch, say a Curt or Reese? (I'm just throwing out hitch brands, again, have not decided yet).

From what I have been told thus far, the underbed mounts are specific to each hitch manufacturer. Reese underbed = Reese hitch. Demco underbed = Demco hitch. Etc etc etc.

That seems rather limiting to me, whereas the factory prep would allow me to install virtually any hitch, and change down the road if there was a compelling reason to do so.