Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2016, 07:18 PM   #121
Land of the Midnightsun

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockfordroo View Post
I'm an engineer and I've done static and dynamic calculations. If you're telling me that the engineers don't design the vehicle brakes to handle the "dynamic weight" associated with the "static" weight that they put on their plaque (actually, in this case, it would be mass, speed and thus momentum), or design the frame, axles, etc to handle the "dynamic weight" at legal highway speeds, then I throw the BS flag.

What you're calling the "dynamic weight" is inherent in the static value they give you. They don't need to give you any "dynamic weight." The average vehicle owner would not know what to do with it. (Heck, half the people don't understand simple "weight.")

You don't see bridge limits that say "10 tons - but only 8 tons if you think you might hit a bump on the bridge."

As a crane operator, you may have to had to deal with something like "dynamic weight," (I'm guessing it has to do with the load swinging from the cable) but your average vehicle owner can't be expected to do that. It has to be built-in and it is.
One more time and I shouldn't waist my time. I never said anything about engineering. I just stated what the little plack represents. No wonder most y'all fuss at each other on these forums.
Elite Ready Brutte tow bar & Blue Ox base plate
Never mistake Knowledge for Wisdom. One helps you make a living the other help you make a LIFE.
jjSpeedwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 07:25 PM   #122

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjSpeedwagon View Post
One more time and I shouldn't waist my time. I never said anything about engineering. I just stated what the little plack represents. No wonder most y'all fuss at each other on these forums.