Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-13-2020, 08:52 PM   #1

Advice on 6.0 diesel purchase?

I have an engine question about the 6.0 PSD. A seller told me today that his 2003 F350 4x4 with a bulletproofed 6.0 with less than 160k is experiencing low oil pressure at idle. He says it is totally fine while driving.

I want to know if this is a common trait with these engines while idling and something to be expected, or if this is a big red flag?

I have never owned a diesel, so I don't know what is "normal" for these things. But I have been driving for 40 years and I do all my own maintenance, including engine and transmission overhauls as needed. I suspect that low oil pressure at idle is indicative of advanced wear in the rotating mass, with greater bearing clearances than when new.

Given that the oil pressure is normal while driving, I am wondering if I could get another 20 or 30 thousand miles with it the way it is before I would rebuild it myself? Or is this condition a time bomb with a much shorter fuse?

Please provide your perspective based on your experiences.

Thanks!
SnowmanCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 08:54 PM   #2
Lets go camping!

I wouldnt buy it if it has low oil pressure. does he have a mechanical gauge or just the dummy light going off?

does he have documentation that it has been "bulletproofed"?
Old 08-13-2020, 09:03 PM   #3

The only thing you need to know about the Ford 6.0 & 6.4 Diesel engines is to run... run far away and never look back.
Don’t care what has been done to them, or if they are claimed to be bullet proofed... run, and don’t stop running.

2019 Ford F-250 Super Cab 6.2L Lariat
2016 ML23FB (Sold March 2024)
2024 ML25SRK
MT Biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 09:22 PM   #4

Advice on 6.0 diesel purchase?

Go on YouTube to power stroke help and I think his website is www.powerstrokehelp.com.