Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-14-2017, 08:53 PM   #1

Andersen Ultimate Feedback Requested

I am researching the Andersen Ultimate 5th wheel hitch made to mount to my existing rails. I have read and researched this forum and much of the info is a year or two old. There is new info also but from the threads it is clear this hitch has been out a while.

I ran across a thread which is recurring whenever someone wants to use a gooseneck type connections. There is always the nay sayers worried about extra torques, damaging the kingpin, 500 lbs here, 500 lbs there and etc.

Here is my question for only people who use or have used the Anderson Ultimate or an earlier version of that hitch. Have you had a failure? Did it damage your kingpin in anyway? Did your RV mfgr void your warranty? How long have you used it? Was your RV unstable?

I'm not a mechanical engineer so I'm not looking to debate physics but just looking for real world experience.

2016 Siverback 33IK, Towed 50K+ mile
2018 Ford F-350 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Crew Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 07:35 PM   #2

I bought the Andersen ultimate with my coachmen chaparral and was very weary about it at first. Now that I've had it over a year and now have a heavier jayco toy hauler. I believe in this hitch I have been told personally from jayco it will not void my warranty same with coachmen. The hitch makes a world of difference compared to a normal fifthwheel hitch. I love it and would never go to anything else unless I buy something heavier that the Andersen can't handle the pin weight. It is so easy and convenient to take out and when people see it they always are intrigued about it. Honestly it is not a gooseneck hitch at all it is more of a fifthwheel hitch. That is attached to my old camper