Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2012, 05:53 AM   #1

Another one: Too much camper for my truck?

I am a newbie to the forum, but have been browsing around for quite a while. My wife and I are looking at our first camper and I am amazed at how many options/floorplans their are out there. I think that we have finally narrowed down what we are looking for and what will possibly be a good travel trailer for my truck. I am currently deployed overseas, so I have some time to do a little research and make sure that we make a good choice when it comes time to buy.
My tow vehicle will be a 2010 Ford F-150 SCREW. It has a 5.4 L V-8 with 3.55 axle. I also have the tow package. We have been looking at the Rockwood Ultralight 2907 and like that, but have also been thinking about the Rockwood Ultralight 8311ss. However, I am not sure if the 8311 is a little too much camper for my truck. The specs of this camper are: Hitch weighght- 786 and dry weight 6951. The specs are almost right at the max of what I think my truck could safely handle. Almost all of our trips would be short (within 25 miles) and maybe 1-2 longer trips per year (75 miles). So, what do the experts on here think about towing the 8311ss with my truck? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
tffsoldier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 06:49 AM   #2

Send a message via Yahoo to JoeyO
TFFSoldier,

Its also very important on a proper hitch set up in making for a good experience. I asked a similar question before buying my 34' TT and was told I did not have enough truck for such weight. Lots of folks chime in on this, it almost prevented me from purchasing as I thought I was either going to buy something my family of 6 would outgrow in a very short number of years or i was going to risk killing them by towing with to small of a TV.