Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-29-2021, 07:51 PM   #1

Backing in advice - best observer instructions

I will start with the fact that I am not good at backing in the trailer. I go slow and steady and still have troubles but with time I have gotten better and assume I will continue to improve. Our trailer is a Roo 233s. 25 feet including hitch and we pull with a Ford truck short bed.

My question: what advice do you have for how the observer should help. Where to position themselves. What method to give directions. What hand signals. Etc.
Plan Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 08:12 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Plan Man View Post
I will start with the fact that I am not good at backing in the trailer. I go slow and steady and still have troubles but with time I have gotten better and assume I will continue to improve. Our trailer is a Roo 233s. 25 feet including hitch and we pull with a Ford truck short bed.

My question: what advice do you have for how the observer should help. Where to position themselves. What method to give directions. What hand signals. Etc.
You will get lots of help with this but I will offer one piece of advice! I often tell my wife............if you can't see my mirrors, I can't see you! She uses hand signals to help me.

Roberte52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 08:20 PM   #3

Quote:

We use radios and use the terms stop, driver side and passenger side exclusively. Even with that, I get out and look often as needed.
PhilFromMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 08:22 PM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roberte52 View Post
You will get lots of help with this but I will offer one piece of advice! I often tell my wife............if you can't see my mirrors, I can't see you! She uses hand signals to help me.
X2