Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-26-2017, 06:32 PM   #1

Brake controller suddenly not recognizing trailer connection

I'm new to the trailer game. I bought a 2011 Ram 2500 (factory brake controller) and a 2004 Forest River Wildcat 5th wheel this summer. So far everything's been awesome.

Our last trip was 4 weeks ago. No issues. I went to hook-up the 5th wheel today and the controller wasn't registering that the trailer was connected. The turn signals and brake lights worked, but nothing from the controller. If I activate the slide adjuster on the controller it lights up for ten seconds, which the Dodge manual said is what should happen if the controller doesn't register a connection. I tried both the outlet in the bed of the truck and on the bumper, same result. I crawled under the trailer and saw no obvious signs that there was a short in the wires going to the brakes. Despite being a 2004, this trailer is in really good shape.

I've been doing some reading online about trailer brake systems, and I'll try and pinpoint the problem tomorrow, but I was wondering if anyone has had this happen to them and could offer some pointers. Thanks!
zippityz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 06:46 PM   #2

sounds like maybe you have a bad electrical connection somewhere... possibly in the 7 pin connector... these connections oxidize and lose electrical connection especially as they age...

I have a can of DeOxit... that I use at least once a year that keeps my connections clean. Hard to find in a retail store...

restoring the electrical conductivity of the contacts is the first and easiest thing to do to try to rectify this situation...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	deoxit01.jpg
Views:	501
Size:	26.5 KB
ID:	155065  

2014 Shamrock 183
2014 RAM 1500 Bighorn Crew Cab, HEMI, 3.21 gears, 8 Spd, 4X4 TST TPMS