Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2020, 04:38 PM   #1

Considering XLR Purchase. Towing Question.

Hey all! New to towing, new to trailers and toy haulers. Making sure I get all my ducks in a row before making a purchase! We just picked up a new side by side, so looking at a smaller toy hauler. Currently looking at an XLR Micro Boost 25LRLE.

Dry weight: 5012lbs
Gross weight: 7646lbs
Hitch weight: 768lbs

We would be putting an ~1850lb side by side in the garage space of the XLR.

Tow vehicle is a 2018 F-150, SuperCrew, 3.5L EcoBoost, 4x4. GVWR 7050lbs. Payload 1757lbs.

If I'm understanding correctly, the GVWR minus the trailer weight leaves us with 2038lbs remaining. Minus the side by side weight, we're at 188lbs remaining. Not much. Too little?

Again, total novice on these topics but tried to do some research before posting this.

Appreciate any advice and will continue to do some more reading!
Squally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 05:48 PM   #2

Before towing that, I would weigh it carefully, especially in regards to how much weight is taken off the tongue when loading the quad into the XLR.
Too much weight in the rear of the trailer will cause sway.
Old 08-18-2020, 06:01 PM   #3

Send a message via AIM to B and B
Having towed heavy with a F 150 Max Tow version, not what you state. I had 1950 Cargo Capacity. I would caution you about this setup. You are over weight before you start. First no trailer comes in at stated weight. Go look at stickers on trailers . You have nothing left for beer, people in the truck, food clothes etc. Big Full Stop no Go.
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2020, 06:01 PM   #4

X2 - what’s the weight limit sticker say in the cargo area?
Does it have a fuel station? These tanks are normally behind the axel adding more weight to the cargo area.
Old 08-18-2020, 06:28 PM   #5
Grammar Pedant

For the TV: